Mexican Baked Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I too am not a measurer. I spread salsa across the fish and sprinkled them heavily with cheese. I also used a spicy corn chip which added to the flavor. My fish-hating daughter loved it. One note: If you use frozen fish, make sure to press out the excess water otherwise you'll have a swimming pool of water in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
OMG, I don't see how this could get any easier! I used talapia and baked for 30 min. No measuring, just dumped the ingredients on, and it tasted EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was excellent. My boyfriend DEVOURED this. I used catfish instead as I think cod fish is very "fishy". My only concern with this meal was that it was kind of watery in the dish while cooking. My salsa was really chunky so I think that it was the fact that I did not pat the filets dry enough before putting them in the oven. Also, I get antsy about fish being cooked completely & by putting all of the ingredients on top of it immediately, it was hard for me to tell. Next time, I will cook the fish for 10 minutes just to be sure & then add the salsa, cheese & tortilla chips. Great recipe! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
Excellent recipe! I used Tilapia instead of cod and combined cheddar and pepper jack cheese for a little spice. Once baked, I put the fish under the broiler for a few minutes to really crisp up the corn chips. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Abosultely delicious. I can't wait to make this for company. So easy and so good. You must try this if you want a fun new fish recipe. I would cook this for 30 minutes instead of 15 though as after 15 minutes the fish was still raw inside. That could be because we used halibut which is a little thicker than cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
WOW! I made this for my 7-year-old son and best friend and they raved! Alek got on the phone with his dad and announced that this was "his favorite meal"! Like some of the other reviewers, I made this with chicken instead of fish. What I did: I dipped boneless skinless chicken breasts in egg, and battered them with breadcrumbs, put them in the greased pan, then followed the rest of the instructions. YUM! I couldn't find a ripe avocado at the grocery store and was very bummed, but the dish was still delicious! It was so easy too!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was so good, and so simple. Like other reviewers, I used boneless chicken tenderloins instead of fish. I used Safeway's Select Mild Southwest Style salsa, crushed Doritos corn chips, and medium cheddar. Low Fat sour cream and avacados were used for the topping. My company loved it, and the tiny portion of leftovers (from doubling the recipe!) was as good, or better the next day. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Wow this was terrific for something so easy, quick and everything goes right from the package to the baking pan, so there is only one pan to clean up. Although I can't say I've never tasted anything as good - it is very good and combined with the ease, and speed, it's a KEEPER. Quick note, I couldn't handle having corn chips in the house and only using 1/2 cup, so I just sprinkled some seasoned bread crumbs on top instead of the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Quick and easy to prepare. Tasty, especially for those family members who normally do not like fish dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This recipe is awesome! Very flavorful, and an interesting array of tastes and textures. I have branched and used it on chicken as well. Family and friends rave when I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States