Mexicali Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was very easy to put together and is delicious. I did add crumbled chips on top of it to make it look better. We had some of it leftover from our meal, and it re-heated very well when we ate it at another meal. I will be making this again, and probably very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
i probably shouldn't be reviewing this since i made all these changes, but i think the flavor came out like the original. i put in some ingredients and this popped up. i didn't have cream of chicken soup so i used cream of onion, left out the onions, and added extra chicken broth and some "Better than Boullion" chicken flavor. no corn tortillas so i toasted flour tortillas. i cubed the chicken for easier serving from the dish. didn't have chili with beans but had "chili beans" with chili spices so used that. it was good! simple, quick to put together. it's not too pretty but that does not matter. thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
It was pretty good but too soggy the tortillas need to be fried to a crisp similar to a enchilada cassorol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
actually a lot better than i expected! i decided to try this because i had all the ingredients already in the pantry, but i was a little wary of how it would all taste together. i'm glad i tried it because it really worked well. i sliced my breasts in half so it wouldn't be so "chickeny" and used flour tortillas because that's what i had. the chicken was very moist, and the sauce was excellent served with spanish rice! not visually stunning, but a nice hot meal that doesn't take a lot of time or finesse :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was pretty good, especially for how easy it is. I omitted the chile peppers since they weren't on hand. I added bell peppers. I also added some potato because i had it left over. I only put about 1/3 of the tortillas ontop of the chicken, bcs i didn't want it too mushy. The rest of the tortilla strips I put on top, and topped that with the cheese. This added a wonderful crisp! My husband said he would have liked it with beef instead of chicken - i might try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was ok. If I made it again (which I probably won't), I would use more tortilla and cut the chicken more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I fully expected this to be gross, but it was SO good. Instead of tortillas, I topped the chicken with broken tortilla chips, sliced black olives, and cheddar cheese just at the very end until the cheese was melted. I also used chicken thighs instead of breasts, so I cooked them at 350 for an hour, covered with foil until the end when I added the cheese etc. YUM! The sauce, thinned, would make a great base for tortilla soup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Yum! This was quick and delicious. The whole family enjoyed it. After reading the other reviews, I altered the recipe just slightly... I added cumin, white pepper and salt to the chicken breasts, put tortilla chips on top, covered and baked for 15 min. Removed the foil, added the cheese and baked for the additional 30 min. Reminded me a lot of chilaquiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&M in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I thought it was pretty good. DH seemed to really like it. The kids weren't hungry so they didn't try it. I followed the recipe except I didn't have chicken breasts so I used chicken quarters. I partially boiled them first and increased the cooking time. I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients and I needed to thin out my pantry a little. I used tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas. And I totally forgot about adding the cheese! I'm sure I would have liked it better with the cheese. I agree with others that say the sauce would make a good chili con queso dip. But I would only use chili without beans. I didn't like them in the dish. The chicken turned out good and moist but while eating it I had to add salt to mine for flavor. I think I will try it with hamburger meat and also as a queso dip but without the cream of chicken soup. Overall, it was a pretty good recipe, different and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Pretty good cassarole...Although I think I'd put the tortilla strips on top of the soup mixture because strips got very mushy. I like a little more crunch to my food. The flavor was fantastic...made me think that the mixture of the soups would be a great queso dip for tortilla chips. The chicken was super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WWWEBGURLIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States