Mexicali Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
My family really enjoyed this and I will definatley make again. I did make a change. I had 8 one inch thick boneless loin chops, so I was worried about them being dry. I rubbed the chops with the seasoning and browned for 4 minutes on each side, then added 2 cups of salsa and one cup of water. I returned the chops to the skillet, covered and simmered for 30 minutes. The sauce was great over rice and I served it all with refried beans and mexican salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bessemer, Alabama, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
GREAT because it was SO quick and easy! I didn't have a package of taco mix at hand so I looked up taco mix recipe here on the site and used that. (Making the taco mix did take a while though, especially when half my spice jars were empty!) Rubbed the mix all over the chops and placed in a hot pan right away - didn't even wait for it to marinate (I was in a starving) - and it was still good. I look forward to trying it when it is actually marinated! I didn't serve it with the salsa as I made beans and rice to serve instead. 4 big stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Very quick and easy. Inchanged it up a bit by adding ground cumin, and a can of Mexican salsa and water whileni cooked porker chops much tender and juicer. I made a side of Spanish rice and served with tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Nice basic recipe. Nothing exciting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
okay with bone in but I think better with boneless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Ok, so I used this recipe, but I wasn't in a hury so I changed it a bit. I used the basic idea of the recipe so that is why I would recomend this so highly. I sprinkled the taco seasoning over the port chops, and then sliced the chops so they were about 1/2 inch wide. I put the rest of the seasoning in a pan w/ 2 packets of water. I added the port chop strips, covered it up and cooked on medium to medium low heat for 40 min. THe pork chop strips were done after 30, but the rice wasn't done so I just let it simmer a little longer. It was so incredibly tender. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was really good. I did do a few things diff. I seared the chops on both sides for about 2-3 min each side and then I put them in the oven and baked @ 350 for about 10 min then I pulled out the chops and added shredded taco cheese and sliced scallion and then put them under the broiler for about 2 min. My kids couldnt get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
mMy husband, 5 yr old and 84 yr old mother liked this dish. Very easy to prepare - I would say it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
The best aspect of this recipe is time. Such little time for great taste, awesome for the busy person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States