Mexi-Italian Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My father's remark, upon trying what I call a "Bruschetta Salsa": "You could bottle and sell this stuff!" (said between chip bites). This is an excellent salsa, and the taste is truly unique and satisfying. Since "salsa" means sauce in both Italian and Spanish, it makes sense that this dip bridges the two cultures as well. I chopped the ingredients up in my food processor for a more minced-like texture and then poured the salsa over some plain, broiled chicken. Then, of course, I popped out the tortilla chips and we all chowed down. Wow, what a taste experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I was kinda unsure about how this would turn out, but it was great! The only change I made was to double the cumin. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is now my favorite salsa. The addition of the artichokes really enhanced it. I did not have lemon juice but I had fresh lime juice and used fresh lime basil [that I had found at a greenhouse]. I also used a couple of fresh hot peppers. I put it on top of a cheese omelot. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I took this to a potluck yesterday and everyone liked it. 6 people asked for the recipe if I would share it. I added some sliced green olives on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmilingSpider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this for a salsa contest at work and I took 1st!!! It was loved by everyone in the contest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I hate to be the only person going against the tide of positive reviews for this recipe but feel I must. I made this for a family BBQ on Labor Day and it fell flat! Only one person ate it after tasting it, my 21 yr old grandson who states, "if its edible I'll eat it"! Really disappointed after reading so many RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is awesome stuff. I barely noticed the onions, and I don't like onions. I made this for a party over the weekend and everyone loved it. Very nice as a dip and I think it's great all by itself as a salad type dish. I love the tanginess of artichokes, and mixed all together with the other ingredients, it's divine. Thanks for the recipe! Another pot luck hit! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was wonderful. I could not find fresh basil, so I only used 1 tbs of dried basil. We loved it, it had good texture and taste was so fresh. I took as a appy for a dinner party. It was well received. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Oh my goodness this may be the most fantastic recipe I have ever encountered! I served this at a appetizer party with toasted french bread and everyone RAVED about it! This is one of the best recipes ever. I followed it to a "T" and couldn't ask for anything better! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Really good! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States