Mexi Hominy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I wanted to try this recipe because I'd never had hominy before, and it was an "ok" food on the Weight Watchers Core plan. I made it for lunch since it looked so simple. It was fantastic. Just enough spice, very flavorful, and filling. My husband loved it,and I will definitely make it again. I used 1/4 tsp. of both salt and pepper and about a teaspoon or so of chopped cilantro. We did add cheese, but agreed (as we ate our cheeseless second helping) that it wasn't required. Next time I might try adding sour cream too, just for fun. Great recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a tasty treat! I cooked it for about 15 minutes and used a can of tomatoes and chili's. I will certainly cook this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The flavor in this was great! This was my first experience with hominy, and the texture of it kinda threw me off, but that's a personal taster thing, and this recipe motivates me to give hominy a few more tries to see if it grows on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My friend that doesn't even like hominy LOVED it. I followed other viewers reviews and did the rotel and it turned out sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I had no tomatoes and so used basil spaghetti sauce, and melted the cheese into it. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
EXCELLENT DISH! Just be sure to pair it up with the right items as it has a lot of flavor. Not boring at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We rolled up this dish in a tortilla with lots of cheese and a little refried beans. It was topped with a green chili sauce....quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
So delicious! I served this with black beans and corn tortillas, and it was marvelous. The cilantro and cumin were lovely together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I'm a shortcut cook, so I added a large can rotel tomatoes and browned brats to the hominy and cheese and it was awesome! I would never have thought to put these ingredients together had I not seen this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States