Mexi Hominy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
In my family we call this "Texas Hominy" and use one can rol-tel tomatoes (mild) and one can of drained hominy, add a little cheddar cheese, and bake at 350 for 15 mins. You can also add various cooked meats to the mixture to make a main dish - I have added left-over pork, cheicken, steak or roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I wanted to try this recipe because I'd never had hominy before, and it was an "ok" food on the Weight Watchers Core plan. I made it for lunch since it looked so simple. It was fantastic. Just enough spice, very flavorful, and filling. My husband loved it,and I will definitely make it again. I used 1/4 tsp. of both salt and pepper and about a teaspoon or so of chopped cilantro. We did add cheese, but agreed (as we ate our cheeseless second helping) that it wasn't required. Next time I might try adding sour cream too, just for fun. Great recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
For my first taste of hominy, I was very pleased. This dish smells so good while it's cooking, and the taste is unique but flavorful. I topped mine with Sargento brand shredded Chipotle Cheddar cheese. Can you say yum? I'll definately make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Good recipe. I only had one can of hominy, so I used that and a can of corn. I used about half a can of green chiles since we don't like super spicy food. Added a little extra garlic, and omitted the cilantro since I didn't have any. A nice change from our usual sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This recipe was surprisingly filing and it was easy to make...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a tasty treat! I cooked it for about 15 minutes and used a can of tomatoes and chili's. I will certainly cook this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
So delicious! I served this with black beans and corn tortillas, and it was marvelous. The cilantro and cumin were lovely together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We rolled up this dish in a tortilla with lots of cheese and a little refried beans. It was topped with a green chili sauce....quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Really tasty. I used a can of Rotel instead of the separate cans of tomatoes and chilis. I added a squeeze of fresh lime just before serving, which added a nice flavor. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good...I needed another recipe for hominy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States