Mexi Hominy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I wanted to try this recipe because I'd never had hominy before, and it was an "ok" food on the Weight Watchers Core plan. I made it for lunch since it looked so simple. It was fantastic. Just enough spice, very flavorful, and filling. My husband loved it,and I will definitely make it again. I used 1/4 tsp. of both salt and pepper and about a teaspoon or so of chopped cilantro. We did add cheese, but agreed (as we ate our cheeseless second helping) that it wasn't required. Next time I might try adding sour cream too, just for fun. Great recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Easy, easy, easy, and cheap. I thought it tasted really good, but I love hominy, My boyfriend wasn't as much of a fan, but he didn't hate it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hiroshima, Hiroshima, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTAHTEX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a tasty treat! I cooked it for about 15 minutes and used a can of tomatoes and chili's. I will certainly cook this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Good as a side dish. Definitely needed the cheese and a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
In my family we call this "Texas Hominy" and use one can rol-tel tomatoes (mild) and one can of drained hominy, add a little cheddar cheese, and bake at 350 for 15 mins. You can also add various cooked meats to the mixture to make a main dish - I have added left-over pork, cheicken, steak or roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Ok dish. A little blah on flavors and I made it according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
For my first taste of hominy, I was very pleased. This dish smells so good while it's cooking, and the taste is unique but flavorful. I topped mine with Sargento brand shredded Chipotle Cheddar cheese. Can you say yum? I'll definately make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The flavor in this was great! This was my first experience with hominy, and the texture of it kinda threw me off, but that's a personal taster thing, and this recipe motivates me to give hominy a few more tries to see if it grows on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Not bad, but I doctored it a bit. Used a can of seasoned tomatoes. Added shallots, diced ham, celery, can of mushrooms, some diced black olives, parsley, diced onion, some frozen peas. Definitely a poor man's or woman's meal. Very quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States