Mexi Hominy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I had no tomatoes and so used basil spaghetti sauce, and melted the cheese into it. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Since I was only cooking for two, I adjusted the recipe and used a can of Mild Rotel. This is pretty spicy with the Rotel, I'd imagine the heat isn't as bad if you do the recipe as written. The serving sizes on this recipe are pretty generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My friend that doesn't even like hominy LOVED it. I followed other viewers reviews and did the rotel and it turned out sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My ratio was a little off, as I only had one can of hominy. I also used three small heirloom tomatoes rather than a can, in addition to garlic powder. Still the recipe turned out well. I would have liked some heat, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieFR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This recipe was surprisingly filing and it was easy to make...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Really tasty. I used a can of Rotel instead of the separate cans of tomatoes and chilis. I added a squeeze of fresh lime just before serving, which added a nice flavor. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good...I needed another recipe for hominy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Not bad, but I doctored it a bit. Used a can of seasoned tomatoes. Added shallots, diced ham, celery, can of mushrooms, some diced black olives, parsley, diced onion, some frozen peas. Definitely a poor man's or woman's meal. Very quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The flavor in this was great! This was my first experience with hominy, and the texture of it kinda threw me off, but that's a personal taster thing, and this recipe motivates me to give hominy a few more tries to see if it grows on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
For my first taste of hominy, I was very pleased. This dish smells so good while it's cooking, and the taste is unique but flavorful. I topped mine with Sargento brand shredded Chipotle Cheddar cheese. Can you say yum? I'll definately make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States