Mesquite Smoked Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
First, I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great! My children ate the entire batch in one sitting! I don't have a dehydrator, so I set the oven to 170 degrees, stuck toothpicks through one end of the beef strips and hung them from the top oven shelf/grate, propped the oven door open slightly with a wooden spoon, and cooked for 4 hours. I found the first batch a little dry for my liking, so the second time I made it, I added 2/3 cup of worchestershire sauce, 1/4 cup of honey, and 2T of red pepper flakes for some added kick. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this exactly as written (I believe if you are going to rate something you must make it that way). Great flavor, however I like peppered jerky, next time I will add lots of pepper. First to the marinade, then again after I put it on the racks. All in all, a great starter to model to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
i tried this it was really good but you should of used garlic powder than minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this in my electric smoker minus the liquid smoke, I chose to use mesquite wood chips and I used garlic powder instead of cloves. Turned out fantastic! Was a bit strong at first, but my taste buds soon adapted. Will continue to make this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this last week for the first time of ever making jerky and it turned out great. The family loves it. I'm not a huge fan of beef jerky, but even I liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmalally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I'm not quite sure how it tastes yet (I'll update as it's done), but the smell of it is heavenly. It was very easy to put together, and now the hard part is waiting for it to cook! Update: Absolutely love it. Didn't change a thing, and it's wonderful. The flavor is great, but I wouldn't call it the "store bought" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This was my first attempt at jerky and the family really liked it. I would suggest using garlic powder though instead of minced garlic. The minced leaves little clumps of garlic on your meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was very good - I smoked the meat in a real smoker which added even more flavor - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
my husband and I have tried a few recipes, this was by far our favorite.. great flavor and smells awesome while it's dehydrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
i doubled the recipe and used venison and it was out of sight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States