Mesquite Smoked Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This was my first attempt at jerky and the family really liked it. I would suggest using garlic powder though instead of minced garlic. The minced leaves little clumps of garlic on your meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was very good - I smoked the meat in a real smoker which added even more flavor - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this exactly as written (I believe if you are going to rate something you must make it that way). Great flavor, however I like peppered jerky, next time I will add lots of pepper. First to the marinade, then again after I put it on the racks. All in all, a great starter to model to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
my husband and I have tried a few recipes, this was by far our favorite.. great flavor and smells awesome while it's dehydrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
i doubled the recipe and used venison and it was out of sight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I'm not quite sure how it tastes yet (I'll update as it's done), but the smell of it is heavenly. It was very easy to put together, and now the hard part is waiting for it to cook! Update: Absolutely love it. Didn't change a thing, and it's wonderful. The flavor is great, but I wouldn't call it the "store bought" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great recipe, but I found the soy sauce + salt overpowering. Next time I'll omit the sale, cut down the soy & add in some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My husband used this recipe and liked it overall. He advises following the recipe directions to the letter to ensure the best outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Just tried this marinade. I really like the flavor, but I feel it's a tad bit too salty (at least for my taste). I'll definately make it again, but next time I'll omit the 1/4 tsp of salt. But overall, very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this last week for the first time of ever making jerky and it turned out great. The family loves it. I'm not a huge fan of beef jerky, but even I liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmalally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States