Mesquite Smoked Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This was my first attempt at jerky and the family really liked it. I would suggest using garlic powder though instead of minced garlic. The minced leaves little clumps of garlic on your meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I'm not quite sure how it tastes yet (I'll update as it's done), but the smell of it is heavenly. It was very easy to put together, and now the hard part is waiting for it to cook! Update: Absolutely love it. Didn't change a thing, and it's wonderful. The flavor is great, but I wouldn't call it the "store bought" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was very good - I smoked the meat in a real smoker which added even more flavor - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
i doubled the recipe and used venison and it was out of sight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
my husband and I have tried a few recipes, this was by far our favorite.. great flavor and smells awesome while it's dehydrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this exactly as written (I believe if you are going to rate something you must make it that way). Great flavor, however I like peppered jerky, next time I will add lots of pepper. First to the marinade, then again after I put it on the racks. All in all, a great starter to model to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great recipe, but I found the soy sauce + salt overpowering. Next time I'll omit the sale, cut down the soy & add in some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Was looking for a good easy recipe for Jerky that didn't involve the little packets that you buy that make the Jerky so salty its hard to eat. This was fantastic! My husband made it, and added Garlic (he's Italian, and adds Garlic to everything) It was awesome! Thank you Kaprer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I have a jerky addiction, so I just bought a dehydrator to save some money and make my own. It is in the dehydrator now and smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My husband used this recipe and liked it overall. He advises following the recipe directions to the letter to ensure the best outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States