Mesquite Smoked Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Just tried this marinade. I really like the flavor, but I feel it's a tad bit too salty (at least for my taste). I'll definately make it again, but next time I'll omit the 1/4 tsp of salt. But overall, very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this in my electric smoker minus the liquid smoke, I chose to use mesquite wood chips and I used garlic powder instead of cloves. Turned out fantastic! Was a bit strong at first, but my taste buds soon adapted. Will continue to make this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this last week for the first time of ever making jerky and it turned out great. The family loves it. I'm not a huge fan of beef jerky, but even I liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmalally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
i tried this it was really good but you should of used garlic powder than minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
First, I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great! My children ate the entire batch in one sitting! I don't have a dehydrator, so I set the oven to 170 degrees, stuck toothpicks through one end of the beef strips and hung them from the top oven shelf/grate, propped the oven door open slightly with a wooden spoon, and cooked for 4 hours. I found the first batch a little dry for my liking, so the second time I made it, I added 2/3 cup of worchestershire sauce, 1/4 cup of honey, and 2T of red pepper flakes for some added kick. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My husband used this recipe and liked it overall. He advises following the recipe directions to the letter to ensure the best outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I have a jerky addiction, so I just bought a dehydrator to save some money and make my own. It is in the dehydrator now and smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Was looking for a good easy recipe for Jerky that didn't involve the little packets that you buy that make the Jerky so salty its hard to eat. This was fantastic! My husband made it, and added Garlic (he's Italian, and adds Garlic to everything) It was awesome! Thank you Kaprer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great recipe, but I found the soy sauce + salt overpowering. Next time I'll omit the sale, cut down the soy & add in some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this exactly as written (I believe if you are going to rate something you must make it that way). Great flavor, however I like peppered jerky, next time I will add lots of pepper. First to the marinade, then again after I put it on the racks. All in all, a great starter to model to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States