Mesquite Grilled Pork Chops with Apple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
The sauce also made a good marinade. I let the chops marinade overnight - added to the flavor I think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Yum! We loved this, but I did modify it slightly. I seasoned the chops first with an herb blend and let them sit for an hour. I didn't have applesauce so I used one fresh, chopped apple and a bit of apple juice instead in the salsa. The smoked flavor of the chops was to die for!! Don't overlook that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
Excellent recipe. Be careful with the jalepenos..only use one. Great flavor & easy to make. Kids loved the chops & we loved the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I would have given the chops themselves 5 stars and the salsa 1 star. My husband and I really didn't care for the salsa; I found the white pepper incredibly overwhelming (1 tbs.??) and even though I can appreciate the taste of onions, this was just a little too much for me. Next time I'll just make the pork chops and skip the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This is unbelievable ! It was surprizingly excellent! Just get good meat and it is no fail !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Nobody at our dinner table cared for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I am looking for the perfect way to Barbeque pork chops - Way #1 - not my favourite so the search continues - to be fair - husband loved the "hotness of the onion and coolness of the apple sauce" - we differ on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Great recipe with lots of flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
I really liked these chops. They were simple to prepare and looked beautiful after grilling. I liked the salsa too but my husband didn't. He thought the onions were "too hot." I used a Maui Sweet Onion and reduced the amount by half. I did dice it because I wanted the salsa to look like salsa. It wasn't the jalapeno because we really like hot and spicy food. Maybe I should try a different type of onion next time. Anyway, he did like the chops. I can see making them this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Easy recipe for a quick, delicious meal! I let a few drops of tabasco sauce marinate the chops before I grilled them (no mesquite on hand, but I'm sure the flavor would've been excellent. The salsa turned out great and really added a litle kick to the pork chops. Picky boyfriend didn't care for the salsa but ate 2 pork chops! I served with Dave's Spanish Rice found on this site and it was all very tasty! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States