Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brandon Cox
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Turned out great. I made stock by baking the shrimp shells in the oven at 350 till they just started to brown. I then added them to the boiling water with the thyme and a little salt. I also added some crab meat and a little Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Very good tip KimsKitchen3, I've made this recipe several times before, but could never get the dark roux, doing what your friend told really did it. I have another tip for you, after you cook the roux about 45 minutes, add just the onions & cook for a minute or so, this makes the roux even darker for some reason. Another thing I did at the very end was add crab meat!! Man this is some good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Made this for some friends. They told me it was the best gumbo they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe was very bland to the point that all I could taste was flour and oil. Thank goodness for the reviews... you all saved my gumbo! I made a dash to the store and added 1 can of stewed tomatoes, 2 bouillon cubes, frozen okra (I figured fresh would take too much time since it was technically done!), 15 dashes of hot sauce, 15 dashes of worchester sauce, and a few dashes of old bay. I would take some of your advice next time and use half olive oil/half veggie oil to adjust the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Oh wow... This was SENSATIONAL. Labor intensive but so worth it. I did adjust a couple of things after reading reviews about it supposedly being "bland". With these little tweeks it was superb. I added two tsp of dry cayenne pepper, 1 tsp of white pepper, about 15 dashes of Louisiana hot sauce, 1 1/2 tsp red chile flakes and about 15 dashes of Worcestershire sauce. I browned 5 skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs then finished them in the oven for 25 min at 400 deg. I shredded and added the chicken back to the stock. The stock was made with one box of chicken stock plus 2 packets of Swanson Flavor Boost -Seafood incorporated slowly into the roux. I followed the tip from another reviewer about using a metal spatula while browning the roux... No lumps, no sticking nor burning... It was so easy and only took 20 min with the heat set one-notch past half on my ceramic cook top using a 10 inch cast iron skillet. I used 1 link of andouille sausage plus 1 link of smoked angus kielbasa adding them after browning. I added 1 large can of whole peeled tomatoes and 1 pound of okra. I also used 1 tsp of Herbs de Provence. I let the whole thing simmer at a slow bubble for about an hour and finally added 1 1/2 lb of medium shrimps during the final 10 minutes of the simmer. I served it over freshly steamed jasmine rice. I shared it with several friends who slurped up every last drop. It was New Orleans restaurant quality and authentic. Can't wait to make it again. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
A nice basic recipe, but if it doesn't have okra, it's not gumbo. The word "Gumbo" is based on a Ghana (West African) term for okra. It also requires tomatoes in some form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is very good, I made a large batch and froze it, will use it for my base recipe, I also added crab next time I will leave out the crab and probably put some of the chicken meat back in the gumbo. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Awesome. Very delicious! I think "Butcher_Boy" who left a long winded and rather unpleasant critique should go back to his fast food. It will be bland and tasteless,just as I imagine him to be! Leave the real cooking to those of us who appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven Fabal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wallykings
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was GREAT!!!!!! A new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a hit with my family. I tried following the recipe as is but ending up leaving in the chicken and adding more shrimp. My husband and son are huge meat eaters. I used 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs and 2 boneless skinless breast cut I in 1" and 1/2" pieces. I couldn't find any file locally but the broth seemed to be a perfect consistency. I also vegetable stock instead of water. Served over multigrain rice and...PERFECT! I appreciated the notation on how long it takes to make the roux. Please be patient...if it seems its not darkening turn the heat up a notch or it will take even longer. This will be a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States