Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
AWESOME!! I made this on Sunday for the NFC Championship game. It was the first gumbo I've ever made, and I was nervous because I live in Louisiana - gumbo is a big deal. I got RAVE reviews!! My husband even said it tasted like his grandmother's gumbo! That is a huge compliment! The only thing I changed was I added chichken bullion cubes to the water and I left the chicken in because I love chicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristieLacy
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Instead of the traditional Turkey for Christmas dinner, we decided to have gumbo. This was a wonderful recipe. I tried cooking the roux as long as possible, but I was getting too hungry :) We omitted the chicken and added a can of stewed tomatoes. Delicious and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Being that I am from Louisiana and spent most of my life there, I tend to really miss the more traditional dishes. This was the first time I had ever actually made gumbo myself because I always just bought it. I couldn't believe that I was actually smelling and tasting gumbo as I know it! I followed the recipe except that I didn't have sausage or chicken. I added calamari with the shrimp. My husband liked the calamari better than the shrimp. I didn't have any file' (impossible to find here) or cornstarch at the end, but I did cut the water to 6 cups. I even reheated it the next night and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Great gumbo recipe everyone that had some enjoyed it! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Delicious dish...we enjoyed it. I couldn't get file powder so I ended up adding 2T of cornstarch to thicken just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I've made this gumbo and it is absolutely outstanding. It has a very good flavor and makes a lot of gumbo to serve quite a few people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I made this recipe for mid-week meal at my church. It was wonderful! I made a few additions: frozen okra and wild rice. I have had several requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I am from and still live in southern Louisiana. I think some people don't realize that good southern cooking takes time. People here love to cook. Alot of us base our weekends on food..inviting friends and family over to share good times being outside on a nice day driking and talking while we cook one stew, gumbo, jambalaya, sauce picante, etc. all day long. Its nice to sit around and smell the good smells while enjoying the day. Good food takes time and is always well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Made this about four times now. Tastes good! I really enjoy this recipe. Thanks for sharing it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This recipe was more time consuming to make. Alot of standing near the stove for this one. The flavor wasn't spicy enough. I didn't care for it myself, but the other family members liked it okay. It needs more veggies I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States