Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Fabulous! I made this recipe almost exactly as it was posted with a few minor changes. I browned four chicken thighs, skin and all, I did not save the meat rather after I was finished cooking with it, I skinned and de-boned the thighs and set the meat aside with the shrimp. I also sauteed the smoked sausage then set it aside with the shrimp & chicken (this keeps the flavor from being boiled out of the sausage). I added all of the meat together at the end for the final few minutes. As far as this recipe being bland, all good cooks know that you have to taste as you cook and add more seasoning to meet your family's taste (expecially salt & pepper). I love things a little warmer, but I know that my family will only tolerate 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne in a dish like this, so that is what I use. If you want this dish spicier... add more! This is a great gumbo recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Awesome! I've never had/heard of gumbo until I found this recipe, this was the nicest stew I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I really didnt care for this gumbo it had no flavor needs to be spicier! Family likes Gumbo just not this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha lane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My family loves this recipe. It has no okra in it like so many other recipes. Which is great, because I can't get my kids to touch the stuff, but at special occations they beg me to make this. My whole family devours it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
AWESOME!! I made this on Sunday for the NFC Championship game. It was the first gumbo I've ever made, and I was nervous because I live in Louisiana - gumbo is a big deal. I got RAVE reviews!! My husband even said it tasted like his grandmother's gumbo! That is a huge compliment! The only thing I changed was I added chichken bullion cubes to the water and I left the chicken in because I love chicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristieLacy
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Instead of the traditional Turkey for Christmas dinner, we decided to have gumbo. This was a wonderful recipe. I tried cooking the roux as long as possible, but I was getting too hungry :) We omitted the chicken and added a can of stewed tomatoes. Delicious and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Being that I am from Louisiana and spent most of my life there, I tend to really miss the more traditional dishes. This was the first time I had ever actually made gumbo myself because I always just bought it. I couldn't believe that I was actually smelling and tasting gumbo as I know it! I followed the recipe except that I didn't have sausage or chicken. I added calamari with the shrimp. My husband liked the calamari better than the shrimp. I didn't have any file' (impossible to find here) or cornstarch at the end, but I did cut the water to 6 cups. I even reheated it the next night and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Great gumbo recipe everyone that had some enjoyed it! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Delicious dish...we enjoyed it. I couldn't get file powder so I ended up adding 2T of cornstarch to thicken just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I've made this gumbo and it is absolutely outstanding. It has a very good flavor and makes a lot of gumbo to serve quite a few people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States