Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
My husband, who notoriously rates low even food that he likes, gave this one a 9.5 out of ten. It is now his favourite food. I don't have file, so omitted that ingredient and just added less water, and it is still fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Excellent! Just cooked it and even my 10 yr old ate it up. Will definitely be in my recipe file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolinagirl965
Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This did not have enough flavor. I used 6 cups of chicken broth, and used 1 pound of chicken breast, diced up, 1 pound of shrimp, a can of baby clams, a can of crab meat, and 1 pound of sausage. I also added 1 cup of chopped celery and used 1 cup of chopped green bell peppers (instead of 2/3). This gumbo definitely needs more flavor - think basil, a little more parsley, a LOT more cayenne pepper, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. My mom who makes gumbo for special occasions has never shared her recipe with anyone so i set out to make my own and this dish may actually surpass it. It was also super easy to make. I did however use cut up boneless chicken thighs instead of chicken parts and i also added celery to it. Thank you sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I am from, born and raised, south louisiana. So, I grew up on things like gumbo and stews. This was a very, very good gumbo recipe with the following modifications to suit our tastes and from what I had on hand. Instead of smoked sausage, I ALWAYS use andouille sausage (enhances gumbo flavor), did not use chicken or green onions. I added one teaspoon of seafood boil (crab boil), and two teaspoons of tigers sauce. I do not put thyme in our gumbo, and do not add file to the pot....I allow those who like file to add it to their bowls...Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very good gumbo! Takes almost exactly like restaurant gumbo. However, mine ended up very watery. Even after I added the file powder which is suppose to thicken it, it never got to the gumbo consistency that I wanted. But it still tasted good. Definitely would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was AWESOME!!!! I used to live in Mississippi and I have missed having good gumbo since I have been in Australia. This is FANTASTIC and well worth the time and preparation. A good cheat, though....toast your flour in the oven first and it saves having to stir constantly for 45 minutes to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I use this recipe as a base for my gumbo, I always add okra and use chicken, crab and two kinds of sausage. I add a few of my own seasonings, but the base of this recipe is great and adapts well to whatever you like in your gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was terrific! My friend from Louisianna helped me make this, and told me instead of constantly stirring the roux, to let it sit for a minute or two, then stir, let sit, etc. I don't think my roux would have EVER turned brown if she hadn't told me this! I put more green pepper in than this called for, a can of tomatoes, used 1/2 olive oil and half veg oil, other than that, stuck to the recipe for an excellent product. One other note: My friend told me her mom makes a lot of roux at a time, and freezes it in baggies so that next time, she doesn't have to stand at the stove for so long. Thanks Merwin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Really good, I have lived in Louisiana for 24 years and this tastes just like local food! I did make a few changes, I left the chicken in, and I added crab claw meat. I also added two cups of celery and cooked the celery with the chicken. If you can't find file powder then add 1 cup of okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELENARP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States