Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
If I could rate it higher I would. This is FABULOUS!!! I used a cajun andoille sausage to help pump up the seasonings. First I made it as directed, then I started playing, adding an assortment of seafood, etc. Its a great recipe to make either as is, as a chicken and sausage as some reviewers have said, or to get fancy and add all sorts of seafood for a wide range of flavor. The sausage you use will have a lot to do with the spiciness of the dish. I've tried two and much prefer one that is made in New Orleans. Also, living on the coast, I have access to some wonderful fresh seafood and I'm looking forward to experimenting some with different types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Being cajun I can see a good gumbo recipe at first glance. This food has been a staple in my life since I was born. I do have a suggestion to anyone who has never tried this little trick my grandfather taught me. Add several tablespoons of ground shrimp for an even more fantastic depth of flavor. Even if you are simply making a chicken and sausage gumbo, this improves the flavor 10 fold. Also, true cajuns ALWAYS serve their gumbo with potato salad. It is the best eating there is on this earth sha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
The flavor was fantastic! We really enjoed this dish - however, next time I will cut back on the seasoning - I used cerole seasoning and it was way too hot for us. Took the leftovers to work and it was devoured - so as they say, "some like it hot"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
When I first read this recipe I thought it was going to be really complicated. I did not use any chicken, and I couple not find file powder but it turned out great anyways. I only used 6 cups of water and I ate it over rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have looked for a good brown gumbo (without tomatoes) recipe and struck gold with this one. I used andoille sausage rather than smoked, used skin-on thighs instead of assorted chicken parts and added more cayenne and no thyme. It is quite a process but worth every minute...absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I'm a fairly new cook, especially to gumbo, and this turned out very well first time out. I cut recipe to serve 4, used only 2 cups broth made with bouillon in gumbo. Did not use chicken, only had sausage and shrimp. Had less than 2 hours, so I worked on roux in one pan (just vegetable oil and flour with about 1/4 tspn of "Better Than Bouillon") while I cooked the gumbo in another pan. The roux never got darker than peanut butter, though there were dark brown bits in it. In gumbo, when time to simmer, I added 1 tspn. fresh thyme, 1/2 tspn. fresh sage, 2 bay leaves and about 1/2 tspn cayenne. Also used okra. Wasn't sure how roux would taste, so I served the gumbo w/out roux to my husband and added 2 tblspns of roux to my own bowl. My husband thought his was not "as flavorful as other things" I've cooked but mine, with the roux, tasted very good to me. Next time I may add clam juice to gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Thank you Merwin! This was fabulous!! I took the advice of others and left in the chicken. I also used andouille as well as smoked sausage. There were NO LEFTOVERS!! Everyone raved about it and everyone has requested that I make it again this weekend! This time I will add crab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I grew up eating my mom's gumbo, so as I read many recipes and reviews, I also had some ideas such as gumbo must have okra and tomatoes! I think this is the best recipe I've found. I did speed it up by doing a few of the steps simultaneously in two pots, so my total cooking time was about 2 hours. 1. First I browned the chicken in light olive oil (holds up to heat better than regular) in a heavy skillet. I put the chicken aside to be added back and cooked in the gumbo during the last 40 minutes. (Chicken included is how I know gumbo.) 2. Then I cooked the roux in the heavy skillet simultaneously with browning the sausage (I used Polish, sliced in circles) in a large soup pot. For the roux, I added to the oil that had browned the chicken more olive oil and 1/4 cup of butter to make a total of about a cup of oil/butter, and gradually added about a cup and a half of flour, stirring constantly so that the roux was smooth. I like to use a metal spatula (aka turner) so that I can quickly scrape the bottom of the skillet and not let the roux burn. 3. While the sausage browned in one pot, and the roux browned in the other (stirring every couple of minutes), I finely chopped the Cajon "trinity" of onion, bell pepper, and celery. I added the vegies to the sausage pot, along with cajon seasoning (salt, pepper, etc.), garlic, and a little olive oil. 4. When the vegies were wilted and the roux was "darker than peanut butter," I added the roux to the sausage and vegies, along
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Made this yesterday. It was great. I did add the chicken to the mix though. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Even better the next day as Gumbo usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Was very hard to make and in the end the taste was extremely bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States