Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Theee best. I added the chicken to it instead of putting it to the side. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was really terrific and satisfying.Hubby thought the color of it was too dark, maybe I cooked the roux too long, altho it was a beautiful tan color. I used chicken bouillon instead of the chicken parts, not really sure why they were cooked, then not used. My family doesn't like it dishes too hot so I skipped the cayenne and only used X spicy sausage. I served it with white rice and chopped green onions. Thank You Merwin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I had tomatoes and okra from the summer garden in the freezer so I added a qt bag of each. Slice the okra and it will thicken the gumbo. As my grandmother taught me, a good roux takes time and the secret is to let it cook a few minutes then stir, repeating until it turns dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very Good!! spice just right for the mild taste. Added more Cayenne at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I am eating it right now and let me tell you, it's good fo sho. I didn't cook the chicken parts because I already had some cooked chicken I needed to use so I used a can of chicken broth in place of the first two cups of water. I used frozen cooked shrimp instead of fresh and added at the end along with some frozen okra. The whole family was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyTripletsRock
Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe was absolutely great. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
the recipe was great! I added scallops and I used chicken breast chunks. I decided to make the roux in a deep pot since I knew a pan wouldnt hold all of the water the recipe called for. but next time i will make the roux in the pan and then transfer b/c the roux ended up sticking to the bottom of the pot. i will also decrease the amount of water b/c i would have liked for the gumbo to have been thicker without excessively boiling just to get the water to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Thought it was good, only 4 stars because the original recipe didn't include the chicken. Per the reviews, I cut the chicken up and threw it in at the end with the sausage and shrimp. I rushed my roux and it wasn't as good as it should have been. Keep the heat LOW and give it the time it needs to brown. I turned it up too high and it tasted a little burnt. We still ate it, but it wasn't as good as it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is incredible! I used andouille sausage because that seems right for a Cajon dish and it added a nice "kick". I cut the chicken into small pieces and left it in. I found that I could not brown the chicken with all the oil in the pan. Put just enough oil in the pan initially to brown the chicken, take the chicken out, add the rest of the oil and start working on the roux. Put the chicken back in latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
If I could rate it higher I would. This is FABULOUS!!! I used a cajun andoille sausage to help pump up the seasonings. First I made it as directed, then I started playing, adding an assortment of seafood, etc. Its a great recipe to make either as is, as a chicken and sausage as some reviewers have said, or to get fancy and add all sorts of seafood for a wide range of flavor. The sausage you use will have a lot to do with the spiciness of the dish. I've tried two and much prefer one that is made in New Orleans. Also, living on the coast, I have access to some wonderful fresh seafood and I'm looking forward to experimenting some with different types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States