Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written with a couple of minor additions and it turned out great. To make it more like I remember it when I lived in Louisiana, I added a cup of fresh okra and one seeded chopped fresh tomato, not canned. Flavoring the roux and the gumbo with the chicken made a big difference (we ate the chicken after we removed it!) Be prepared, the roux takes 35-45 minutes of constant stirring, it needs to be dark brown and you know it's done when you can smell a strong cooked flour smell. In spite of conventional wisdom, we skipped the potato salad and crackers and served it with toasted sourdough and a fresh salad, a 2008 California Cabernet Sauvignon paired well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very good, but I added a can of diced tomatoes for some color and extra flavor, and call me traditional, but I've never seen a gumbo recipe that didn't call for Okra! A pound or so of okra made this soup into real gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
the amount of time needed for this recipe is very well worth it! i served this over brown rice & it was absolutely amazing. i was hoping to have leftovers, but the pot is empty! i made a few minor changes: adding 1 cup diced celery; using 8 cups chicken/shrimp stock instead of 8 cups of water; i also couldn't find file powder, so i made a larger amount of roux to thicken using 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup butter & 1.5 cups flour. will definitely be making this many, many times in the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
OMG this is SO good. We had left over shrimp and sausage from a cookout. Used this recipe and WHAT a great meal. Only added celery. This is so VERY GOOD. Did cook the rice separately. Lots of left overs to freeze and eat later. Thanks for a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good. I made it with chicken Andouille. Sauteed sausage with onions, celery, peppers while making roux. Transferred all to a slow cooker on low for 6 hours which switched to low until I got home. Stirred in file powder and served over brown rice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was excellent! I used Andouille sausage and added a little chopped celery. I also used 4 boneless chicken thighs and left the meat in the gumbo. Sho-eeee GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DuRod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I didn't include the chicken parts and skipped a few ingredients I didn't have, but it turned out great still! I seasoned it too my liking so it wasn't bland or tasteless AT ALL. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I've tried a lot of different Gumbo recipe's on here but this is my top favorite! I live in New Orleans and every time I go visit my family in California they always ask me to make it for them. IT'S A BIG HIT IN MY FAMILY!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I tried a baked roux (without oil) & did not like it so I made it again tonight, following the directions. While I think the general recipe okay, I have a couple of problems with it. First - I made my roux in an enameled cast iron pan and after 45 minutes it had barely changed color. After reading through some other recipes I turned up the heat to medium & stirred constantly until it reached the right color. This worked better for me. The bigger problem was that the flavor was a bit wimpy. I ended up adding 2 packs of Trader Joe's low sodium chicken broth concentrate and 3 tsp of cajun spice with 1 tsp of salt. In the end we liked it. I would make it again with these changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States