Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
OMG this is SO good. We had left over shrimp and sausage from a cookout. Used this recipe and WHAT a great meal. Only added celery. This is so VERY GOOD. Did cook the rice separately. Lots of left overs to freeze and eat later. Thanks for a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good. I made it with chicken Andouille. Sauteed sausage with onions, celery, peppers while making roux. Transferred all to a slow cooker on low for 6 hours which switched to low until I got home. Stirred in file powder and served over brown rice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was excellent! I used Andouille sausage and added a little chopped celery. I also used 4 boneless chicken thighs and left the meat in the gumbo. Sho-eeee GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DuRod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I didn't include the chicken parts and skipped a few ingredients I didn't have, but it turned out great still! I seasoned it too my liking so it wasn't bland or tasteless AT ALL. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I've tried a lot of different Gumbo recipe's on here but this is my top favorite! I live in New Orleans and every time I go visit my family in California they always ask me to make it for them. IT'S A BIG HIT IN MY FAMILY!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I tried a baked roux (without oil) & did not like it so I made it again tonight, following the directions. While I think the general recipe okay, I have a couple of problems with it. First - I made my roux in an enameled cast iron pan and after 45 minutes it had barely changed color. After reading through some other recipes I turned up the heat to medium & stirred constantly until it reached the right color. This worked better for me. The bigger problem was that the flavor was a bit wimpy. I ended up adding 2 packs of Trader Joe's low sodium chicken broth concentrate and 3 tsp of cajun spice with 1 tsp of salt. In the end we liked it. I would make it again with these changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
OMG Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Great recipe! I haven't made gumbo more than once and this was a great one! My boyfriend said 'Where has this been all his life'... I did add some okra, and celery for the "trinity" seasoning, to compliment the green pepper and onion and make it more authentic. Also put file powder at the end before serving. Yumm! thank you so much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lysa
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I am from New Orleans and this is the REAL DEAL. It is a bit bland but it is up to you to add your spices. If you taste while you cook, you can get it right. I should have tasted mine more...I used 2 tsp of cajun spice mix and 1/4 tsp of salt. Next time I will try 3 tsp of spice mix and 1/2 tsp of salt. (I am cautious on the salt because I am borderline hypertensive.) I also used a cup of okra because I believe you gotta have okra in gumbo. I'm surprised this didn't have celery in it and might try it with that next time. Also might try substituting some of the water for chicken stock just to up the flavor. This is my 3rd attempt at gumbo and definitely the best one I have made so far. This is a great recipe to start with, now just need to make some tweaks to make it PERFECT. As we say in New Orleans, "dats good eatin'"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States