Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This dish is AMAZING..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandon Cox
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Turned out great. I made stock by baking the shrimp shells in the oven at 350 till they just started to brown. I then added them to the boiling water with the thyme and a little salt. I also added some crab meat and a little Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Very good tip KimsKitchen3, I've made this recipe several times before, but could never get the dark roux, doing what your friend told really did it. I have another tip for you, after you cook the roux about 45 minutes, add just the onions & cook for a minute or so, this makes the roux even darker for some reason. Another thing I did at the very end was add crab meat!! Man this is some good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Made this for some friends. They told me it was the best gumbo they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe was very bland to the point that all I could taste was flour and oil. Thank goodness for the reviews... you all saved my gumbo! I made a dash to the store and added 1 can of stewed tomatoes, 2 bouillon cubes, frozen okra (I figured fresh would take too much time since it was technically done!), 15 dashes of hot sauce, 15 dashes of worchester sauce, and a few dashes of old bay. I would take some of your advice next time and use half olive oil/half veggie oil to adjust the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Oh wow... This was SENSATIONAL. Labor intensive but so worth it. I did adjust a couple of things after reading reviews about it supposedly being "bland". With these little tweeks it was superb. I added two tsp of dry cayenne pepper, 1 tsp of white pepper, about 15 dashes of Louisiana hot sauce, 1 1/2 tsp red chile flakes and about 15 dashes of Worcestershire sauce. I browned 5 skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs then finished them in the oven for 25 min at 400 deg. I shredded and added the chicken back to the stock. The stock was made with one box of chicken stock plus 2 packets of Swanson Flavor Boost -Seafood incorporated slowly into the roux. I followed the tip from another reviewer about using a metal spatula while browning the roux... No lumps, no sticking nor burning... It was so easy and only took 20 min with the heat set one-notch past half on my ceramic cook top using a 10 inch cast iron skillet. I used 1 link of andouille sausage plus 1 link of smoked angus kielbasa adding them after browning. I added 1 large can of whole peeled tomatoes and 1 pound of okra. I also used 1 tsp of Herbs de Provence. I let the whole thing simmer at a slow bubble for about an hour and finally added 1 1/2 lb of medium shrimps during the final 10 minutes of the simmer. I served it over freshly steamed jasmine rice. I shared it with several friends who slurped up every last drop. It was New Orleans restaurant quality and authentic. Can't wait to make it again. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
A nice basic recipe, but if it doesn't have okra, it's not gumbo. The word "Gumbo" is based on a Ghana (West African) term for okra. It also requires tomatoes in some form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is very good, I made a large batch and froze it, will use it for my base recipe, I also added crab next time I will leave out the crab and probably put some of the chicken meat back in the gumbo. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Awesome. Very delicious! I think "Butcher_Boy" who left a long winded and rather unpleasant critique should go back to his fast food. It will be bland and tasteless,just as I imagine him to be! Leave the real cooking to those of us who appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven's Ohana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wallykings
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was GREAT!!!!!! A new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States