Merwin's Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Tried this tonight, and it came out pretty good. My wife really liked it, and I loved the buttery flavor of the chicken. However, I think there's a typo: 2 tablespoons of oregano and parsley were WAY too much. Next time, I would try2 teaspoons of each and see if that works better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is the first time I've made chicken marsala. It was easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
So good. I also changed a few things. Added some green onion and used Baby Bella mushrooms. Used lot less oregano. Will double or triple the sauce next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe was perfect!!!! best chicken marsala I've ever made, EVER. probably the best I've ever eaten too! I followed this recipe exactly as it's written, and only changed a couple things. After I added the marsala wine and the parsley and oregano, I also added about 1/4 cup of cooking Sherry. I had no ''meat extract'', because I have no idea what that is, so I added some a packet of Beef flavoring from a package of Ramen noodles, ha ha ha. Also, I let that simmer with the mushrooms for about 5 minutes and then I removed the mushrooms, put them in a separate bowl, and then I added a mixture of cornstarch to thicken the sauce just a LITTLE. You don't want it to be too thick. After that was mixed up I re-added the chicken and the mushrooms back to the pan and covered and let it simmer for about 5 minutes or so. It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allisons88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I did tweak it for my family's taste and doubled the sauce plus I added 2 ingredients - minced garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Didn't know what meat extract was. I used Better than Bullion to make stock and made it a little stronger than directions. Then I used some Kitchen Bouquet. I did add an onion and garlic to the sauce and mixed a little cayenne in with the flour. I doubled the sauce, but next time I will triple it. It was soooo delicious. I used Fiore dry marsala and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This dish was good; something's amiss...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was tasty but I felt like there was something missing. I added a splash of cream to thicken it up but that didn't change it too much. I diced up a half an onion and put it in - it tasted nice but it didn't blow my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very Tasty. I did add some minced garlic, used the oregano to taste, doubled the sauce, added flour to thicken and than put the chicken back into the sauce to absorb more flavor. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
So full of flavor! I picked this recipe because it called for chicken stock, which I thought would really bring out the flavors. This recipe was perfect, I just tweaked it a little to suit my situation. Before sauteeing the mushrooms, I added 2 tbsp of minced onion and 1 tsp of minced garlic to the butter. Then, I didn't use Marsala wine (so I guess it's not technically a chicken marsala, haha). I only did that because I dont like drinking sweet wines, and I wanted to drink a few glasses with the meal. So I picked Pinot Noir, and sprinked about 1 tbsp of sugar into the sauce, since Marsala IS a sweet wine after all. I used pre-cooked, grilled chicken tenders from Trader Joes for convenience and it turned out great! Lastly, I splashed about 2 tbsp of half-n-half to the final result along with 1/2 tbsp of butter. All served over angel hair pasta! so yummy (p.s. with the chicken stock, and "meat flavor" --I used granulated chicken boullion-- this recipe does not need any addl salt. Use at your discretion) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States