Merry Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LMARGARET
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I got this recipe from my mother-in-law. She uses red cherries only, does not chop the chocolate candies, and bakes them in a jelly roll pan. They look beautiful and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
It just is not the holidays without these yummy cookie bars. A family friend has been making these for over twenty years and I started making them last year. It is fun and sticky to make but well worth it. A wonderful holiday tradition for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This short-bread type bar is excellent. It's hard to really describe - but it's great. I took it to a gathering of diverse individuals and everybody loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKSROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
What a simple, tasty treat! The only bad thing was that it took forever to bake at the recommended heat, since I'm at high altitude; next time, I'll try it about 25' hotter. On the other hand, the slow baking ensured that it baked evenly all the way through - no gooshy middle. Another idea (specifically for the holidays) is to use just red or red and green candy pieces, to make it look more appealing; one of the other reviews for this was right - the multi-colored candy shells makes them look funky. By the way, if you have a mixer, use it! Mixing this by hand takes a lot out of your muscles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made these for Xmas and I loved them. They were ugly but they tasted awesome. I think the fruit and chocolate thing deterred people from trying them but once they did they really liked them. If I make them again, I think I will try to conceal the m & m 's a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
A definite do-over and very pretty too! I followed the directions exactly and I did not have any problems. The bars cooked evenly. I would think in a larger pan they would be extremely flat---almost cracker like. I tinted my glaze red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Make this recipe in a 10x15 inch pan and cook for 25 - 30 minutes, and it turns out very well. This delicious cookie is a favorite of my family. The red and green candies with drizzled white frosting make this a pretty cookie that is easy to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This is one of our all time favorites. Tastes like a shortbread cookie. Helpful Tip: I keep an eye on this while it is cooking as my oven cooks unevenly. If the edges are browning before the middle is finished, I cover the edges with foil and use a toothpick in the center to check doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This was a holiday mess! They were over done on the other edges, and underdone in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States