Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I have made this for 30 odd years. The 1st part can all be done on the stove top in a large saucepan. Just add the butternut along with the garlic and onions. Cook 5 min.,then add the stock,cover with lid. Bring to boil, reduce heat, simmer till tender.Remove lid turn up heat and reduce liquid till just moist. (don't let it burn). Put in baking dish and add topping. Just use tasty chedder and parm., cheese. The herbs over power the expensive cheese so why waste your money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
One of the considerations I use in rating any recipe is the cost of the ingredients vs. the taste. Some recipes are worth the expense and some aren't. This one wasn't. My husband and I thought the flavor of this recipe was just OK. I won't make it again because I didn't think it was worth the time it took to make it, but mainly because it is VERY expensive to make. I live in Atlanta and Gruyere cheese is $19.00 per pound! That's right -- an 8 oz. block of it cost me $9.50. When you add in the cost of fresh rosemary and thyme, extra sharp cheddar, and the cost of the squash, it costs about $18.00 to make this dish. It would have to be extra super delicious for me to pay this much to make it again and it just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Note in response to Laura: Great question! Yes, you can make it all ahead of time, just keep the the squash part and the breadcrumb mixture separate until you are ready to reheat the squash mixture and finish it. Otherwise the breadcrumbs get soggy. Other notes: Using coarse breadcrumbs smashed up a little bit works a little better than the fine canned breadcrumbs you get at the grocery store. Also you can use all cheddar if gruyere or emmenthaler are too difficult or expensive... but I really like the flavor they give.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Well! I am so glad I picked today to finally make and review this dish! :) I ended up buying an Emmentaler for the Gruyere, as I remember someone recommending it. It was actually slightly cheaper than the regular Gruyere, not that it mattered - it was not as outrageously priced here as it is in other areas, apparently, and if it was I simply would not have made this for a typical Sunday dinner, nor would I have reviewed it. Only changes I made were to use panko bread crumbs, vegetable stock and thyme that I had dried a few weeks ago, all substitutions based on what I had on hand. I can't say enough about this - it was absolutely delicious! A golden, crunchy crust over delicious sweet butternut squash - just heavenly! Kept trying to think of something to add or change, but the best I could do was to sprinkle some freshly cracked pepper before eating it. Thanks for coming up with a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have been making a version of this recipe for years around the holidays and it always gets rave reviews. For those like me that like to tinker with recipes here are a couple variations I like to do: (1) you can roast the butternut squash halved in its skin at 425 for approx 45mins or until tender and then scoop out the squash and prepare the rest of the way as is--this gives the flavor a little more depth from the roasting (2) I am a carmelized onion junkie, so rather than mixing some of the sauteed onions and garlic into the butternut squash, I like to carmelize 3 onions with a little bit of thyme and butter and then top the butternut squash with them (the breadcrumb-cheese mixture goes on top of the that) before baking as directed. This creates a layered effect of the different flavors and the carmelized onion makes it even more savory. This is a great and versatile recipe that is just a little bit away from the traditional holiday fare you see--a little labor intensive--but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
We loved this! My 7yo says the flavor reminds her of stuffing. I brought the price down a bit by using Cheddar and Mozzarella, and used dried herbs (1 tsp each) in place of fresh. We'll be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Okay Merritt, worthy of a 5 star rating!!! I'm a butternut squash *newbie* and this dish was VERY GOOD! My squash came from my garden, so I'm not sure it was 2.5 lbs (measured 9"). Since I wasn't sure of the weight, I did cut back on all the cheeses slightly. Prep work is about 30 minutes, but the end result is worth it. I used panko bread crumbs slightly crushed (as suggested by the submitter) and this added nice texture. I enjoyed the combination of the three cheeses in this dish! Since I have an abundance of this squash taking over the yard, I will be making this a few times this summer!! THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
boom goes the dynamite. this recipe is the best butternut squash recipe i've seen yet! ROCK OUT WITH YOUR BUTTERNUT SQUASH OUT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I can't believe that I forgot to rate this one - not like he needs another rave review, but I loved this recipe, and will make it often. For those worried about the expense of the Gruyere cheese, you can also make it with mozzarella or cheddar or a nicely flavorful swiss. I have my own all year herb pots so I made it with fresh rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was FANTASTIC!! Im making this again for thanksgiving. I didnt change a thing. Please post some more recipes, I read in your profile that your the king at thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States