Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so good! I used just cheddar cheese (and only two cups total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just ok, turned out bland. If I were to bake it again I would do it without the bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Love this! I love the savory squash. Following the advise of another reviewer, I did cook this mostly on the stove then put into the oven for awhile. The important part of stove top cooking is to make sure you get your onion caramelized. I also used asiago and mozzarella for my cheeses (it's what I had) and Italian bread crumbs. My husband loved it and he doesn't eat squash! It really didn't take that much work. I used a really good vegetable pealer to peel the squash and a sharp knife to cut it into chunks. Well worth the effort. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought it was good, just not great. Thanks for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
AMAZING! I have been searching for a good squash recipe for Thanksgiving for years now and I have finally found it! This was a hit! Absolutely no left-overs with this one! I added bleu cheese to the mix (we love bleu cheese in my family) and it was superb! I will be making this every year for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have been making a version of this recipe for years around the holidays and it always gets rave reviews. For those like me that like to tinker with recipes here are a couple variations I like to do: (1) you can roast the butternut squash halved in its skin at 425 for approx 45mins or until tender and then scoop out the squash and prepare the rest of the way as is--this gives the flavor a little more depth from the roasting (2) I am a carmelized onion junkie, so rather than mixing some of the sauteed onions and garlic into the butternut squash, I like to carmelize 3 onions with a little bit of thyme and butter and then top the butternut squash with them (the breadcrumb-cheese mixture goes on top of the that) before baking as directed. This creates a layered effect of the different flavors and the carmelized onion makes it even more savory. This is a great and versatile recipe that is just a little bit away from the traditional holiday fare you see--a little labor intensive--but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this last night for a Pre-Thanksgiving get together and everyone was raving about it!! Almost everyone asked me for the recipe. Little did they know, they were the guinea pigs. I WILL BE MAKING THIS FOR THANKSGIVING!!! Only thing that I'll do different (and this was my mistake not the recipe) I mixed all the cheeses and bread crumbs in with the squash instead of just pouring it on top. It still turned out wonderful but looked a little mushy. Can't wait to make this one again. Tip: ask for the Gruyere cheese from the deli they will cut you off a piece, it ended up being $8 cheeper than buying 2 from the case which would only make one batch, buying from the case I'll actually be able to make 2 more dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Absolutely awesome. My son who doesn't like squash, really like this! Only down side is that it makes alot and doesn't reheat well! We will definatly be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heppner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
what a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was excellent! I didn't change a thing! My husband who usually won't eat stuff like this, loved it too!! Crust was perfect. Never thought of mixing bread crumbs with the cheese, and the rosemary topped it! Thanks for a great recipe, I will be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States