Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe at a potluck with my fellow employees and fell in love with it! I decided to share it with my family over Christmas and they did too! My husband is not a big fan of Gruyere so I used Asiago, Jack and Sharp Cheddar and still topped it with Parmesan. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made this a number of ties, and always get compliments on it. I sometimes roast the squash in the oven to get a caramelized taste to it, then put in in the pan with the broth. Both ways delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made a lot of substitutions and it still came out great. I love this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of butter, almond meal instead of bread crumbs, amber agave syrup instead of brown sugar, mozzarella cheese instead of Gruyere cheese, my seasonings were all from a bottle, and I used a different kind of squash. I was very worried about how it would taste - it was delicious. YUM!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I thought this was great! Someone gave me a butternut squash and I had no idea what to do with it so I tried this recipe and loved it. I did take the advise of other reviewers and went with a cheaper cheese blend of Sharp cheddar, Romano and parmesan cheese. My 9 year old daughter is vegetarian so we used veggie stock instead of chicken. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very tasty used the cheese I had in the fridge and my fresh dried herbs, added those to the stove top method used by Clare. Will definatly make this again Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good!! I thought way too much topping so I didn't put all on. The cheese especially seemed excessive and I only grated about 3/4 of the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was pretty good! I didn't use the Grueyer cheese just because of the price and just used what I had on hand a combination of Sharp Cheddar and Colby Jack. I liked it and probably will make it again, one of my daughters said she thought it tasted like a lasagna but with squash, my husband said in cube form it was too strong. He thinks next time I make it I should mash the squash first before adding the cheese topping instead of leaving it cubed. All in all it wasn't a bad recipe and I will make it again. I also add some freshly ground black pepper and realized I added a tbsp of brown sugar instead of a tsp. I think I will keep this addition. It gave it a wonderful mix of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was very tasty. Even approved by non-squash eaters in my family. I skipped the Gruyere cheese; just used cheddar & Parmesan. Also, because of oven space, I just let the mixture simmer on the stove for 45 minutes to soften & absorb the liquid. Then toasted the cheese on top for 15 minutes in oven. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made two minor changes, but WOW what a difference. I left out the herbs and added 8 strips of crubled bacon while it was cooking before the cheese. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe several times just using the cheeses I have in the house and it turns out wonderful every time. I have used cheddar, mozzarella, parm, and feta. No need to buy anything expensive. I have also used acorn squash on a few occasions and I like that better than the butternut. This is a favorite in my household no matter how I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States