Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Used about half the cheese and subbed monterey jack for the gruyere, and it still came out great! I'd recommend a little less thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipe was tasty, but I felt there was a little too much cheese/breadcrumb mixture. I think I would prefer to use double the squash amount, or half the topping amount, to let the squash shine through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I love butternut squach but this is one reciepe that took it up a notch. So flavorful. It will be cooked often and I recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Wonderful, even those who say they don't like squash like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crozet, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wonderful taste! However, the chicken broth never did get absorbed, so I had to decant it before completing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was delicious and fairly easy to make. The prep time cutting the squash was really the longest part. This heated up well for leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Extremely expensive to make. If recommend doubling on the squash mixture to get a thicker squash layer. Otherwise the breadcrumbs are overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandieqh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I love butternut squash, and was totally surprised by the flavors in this dish. Very unique from any other butternut squash recipe I've made before. I forgot to add the brown sugar, but it still had the right amount of sweetness (for my taste) just from the natural sugars caramelizing. Next time I make it, I'll probably omit the brown sugar again. Bonus start because even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Domestic Gruyere is quite a bit cheaper than imported and works just as well. Either Gruyere or Emmenthaler have a unique flavor and melt well. I can't see substituting another cheese for either of these. I like the idea of roasting the squash, so much less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States