Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Amazingly good and fattening! Thanks to you, Merritt, we now have a T-giving Day "staple" side dish. I was just requested to pretty please make it again this year. Because of this recipe I actually became an "official" allrecipes.com member. Don't listen to the naysayers, this is a really good, satisfying-to-everyone dish. If you don't like one or all of the cheese in the recipe, use the cheese you like. Running out now to buy the Gruyere!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merrick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This has become a staple for Christmas dinner since we tried it a few years ago. It's definitely a pricey recipe to prepare (hence, we only do it at Christmas). But it's outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I am a huge fan of butternut squash, and this was delicious. I substituted panko bread crumbs, and used mixed Italian cheeses. I would note that using a shallower, bigger dish will result in a better "topping to squash" ratio. The first time I made this, I made it in a smaller, deeper dish, and I felt that I didn't have enough topping in proportion to the squash. But still delicious and not too difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
It tasted ok, but I felt I could still taste all the individual ingredients, rather than a combined new flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. Butternut squash prepared in more traditional ways makes me gag, but this dish has a savory taste that is comforting and delicious. I used about half the cheese recommended (3/4 sharp cheddar, 1/4 shaved parmesan) and it tasted wonderful. Can't wait to make this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Strange that this is rated so high. Wasn't horrible but that's about the best I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
absolutely wonderful. It will be cooked often here. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It's darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I love this dish because my daughter is an ovo lacto vegetarian and I can substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth when I make this for her....very tasty comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so good! I used just cheddar cheese (and only two cups total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States