Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Glorious! The family was very pleased. I used panko too. The only thing I might do differently is add a bigger squash or cut down on broth and cheeses. This dish is quite a bit of cheese. Also used reduced fat cheddar which did not diminish the dish! 2 of the three adult women asked for the recipe! Don't miss this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This dish was a disappointment and embarrassment at Thanksgiving dinner. The taste was okay but the cheese mixture formed a dense helmet on top (hard to cut with a fork) and the squash was watery. An unpleasant experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Loved it! Made this to take to my in-law's on Thanksgiving and it got great reviews and requests for the recipe. The only thing I did differently was use sweet onion - 2 instead of 1 - carmelized both and mixed 1/2 with the squash and then put the other 1/2 on top just before adding the bread crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
WOW!!! I always thought Thanksgiving dinner was complete with all of classics my family prepared... until I made this gratin. Now I can't imagine Thanksgiving without it. I love this website. Thank you allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was the best side I served this Thanksgiving. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absoltely wonderful! I made this for the first time to take for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. I used panko bread crumbs and 1 tsp. for each of the dried herbs as this is what I had. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Well worth the effort for a Thanksgiving side dish. This was an amazing squash recipe! I had my husband work on this while I prepped everything else and I am so glad he wanted to help. We got many requests for the recipe. We didn't change a thing. I made this instead of yams/sweet potatoes and I have to say, I will make it every year from now on. We warmed up some leftovers this morning and had with a couple of eggs! It is still fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this for a potluck recently and it was a hit! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Love butternut squash and tried to lighten this up and not add the gruyere and cheddar. Only used the Parmesan in the crumb topping. I used panko bread crumbs and kindo of felt they were a little too light and delicate for the heaviness of the squash. I'd like the topping to be more like a crumble with butter/flour. I added sage because butternut is awesome with sage. Oh, and salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is verrrry good. I love the way the cheeses accompany the sweet of the squash. My only issue was with the bread crumbs...that my be my own fault...mine were "italian' style crumbs, already seasoned with italian seasoning. And, then adding in the rosemary and thyme may have over seasoned for my taste.I think the next time I will tray a Panco bread crumb so that it is more coarse and not so grainy and not so already seasoned. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States