Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Kinda sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was delicious! I used Panko bread crumbs and they added a nice crunch. I highly reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was SO GOOD! I'll never make "normal" stuffing again. We're a vegetarian household so I used vegetable bouillon instead of chicken broth, and had to use dried herbs (with oregano since I didn't have thyme), but it still turned out delish! I also used about two and a half cups of bread crumbs (homemade), and am glad for it... one cup doesn't seem like it would have given it enough crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Way too much cheese - I reduced by half and it was perfect. This is a delicious recipe! I'm not big on rosemary so did thyme and Penzey's Fox Point, absolutely delicious. I also expedited the process by cooking the squash fully on the stovetop, mixing in half the cheese/breadcrumbs into the squash with some milk + boullion instead of broth, then put in a dish, topped with the rest of the cheese/breadcrumbs and baked til the top was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was a great recipe. I added some apples and a bit of sage in the topping. It had a nice crisp. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Tasty. The crust had a perfect amount of crunch and had a nice flavor from the herbs. I cut the amount of cheese in half and used dried herbs. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Something different than the usual sweet mapley butternut squash! It took a little bit of time to prepare, which on weeknights I might pass up this recipe. Also, we thought there was a little too much onion, and too herby... we are pretty plain eaters. The cheesy topping though, was AMAZING! I would have never thought to put cheddar with squash! Yum, I will absolutely be making this again, with half of the onion & herbs next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBadger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Great recipe! The topping can be made with just cheddar and parmesean crumbled with bread crumbs and a tblsp of butter. Also, I found a cup of stock was WAY too much liquid. I had to pour some off, leaving the whole thing a bit overdone. Otherwise, this was just perfect, even for the squash haters in the house! I did have some trouble sauteing the squash, I had to do it in 2 batches. In hindsight I think everything up to browning the topping could be done in a large pan or pot as one already suggested, and browning the squash can be skipped. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made a few alterations to this recipe, but the combination of flavors is out of this world. I cut the cheese in half, and used the pre-shredded Italian blend so that the squash takes the main stage. I also added oregano to make it a little more savory. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I used vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States