Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This dish is outstanding. I make it only at Christmastime (complements prime rib nicely), and this year we had a neighborhood Christmas potluck. EVERYONE LOVED IT, and 4 people demanded the recipe. I've tried milder cheeses, and you really do need the extra-sharp cheeses to work with the just-a-bit-of-sweetness of the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! Took to a dinner party and got great reviews! Only changes I made were, I used feta instead of gruyer (because I had it in the frig) and panko for the bread crumbs. I turned the broiler on for a few minutes at the end to brown the topping. It looked lovely and had a crunch. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This dish was incredibly delicious! My family loved it. It had many steps, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this dish for Christmas dinner, and it was a huge hit. I did use vegetable stock to make it vegetarian, and omitted the rosemary only because of personal preference. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this last week for a dinner party. It was VERY good. The only reason I gave it 4 stars rather then 5 was because I thought the thyme overwhelmed the topping and made the rosemary disappear. The topping had more of a "poultry seasoning stuffing taste" NEXT time I will just leave it out and allow the rosemary to shine :) I served it with ham, scalloped potatoes and a brocolli salad. Faaaaabulous!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
loved it! everyone thought it was potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovefullofpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I loved this but it's definitely NOT low in fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Kinda sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was delicious! I used Panko bread crumbs and they added a nice crunch. I highly reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was SO GOOD! I'll never make "normal" stuffing again. We're a vegetarian household so I used vegetable bouillon instead of chicken broth, and had to use dried herbs (with oregano since I didn't have thyme), but it still turned out delish! I also used about two and a half cups of bread crumbs (homemade), and am glad for it... one cup doesn't seem like it would have given it enough crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States