Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I agree with other reviewers that this dish is time consuming and the gruyere is expensive, but it is soooo worth it. Will definitely make again, just can't have this on a regular basis. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Great recipe! My kids (9 & 11) liked it, but requested less crumb topping next time. I agree that fresh herbs are unnecessary; there is so much flavour going on in this dish already, I'll use dried next time. The cheese is expensive, and we are certainly not wealthy, lol, but we felt this was a worthwhile expense (most "fancy" cheese is, in our household). This recipe has made it into my monthly rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACEANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This dish is outstanding. I make it only at Christmastime (complements prime rib nicely), and this year we had a neighborhood Christmas potluck. EVERYONE LOVED IT, and 4 people demanded the recipe. I've tried milder cheeses, and you really do need the extra-sharp cheeses to work with the just-a-bit-of-sweetness of the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! Took to a dinner party and got great reviews! Only changes I made were, I used feta instead of gruyer (because I had it in the frig) and panko for the bread crumbs. I turned the broiler on for a few minutes at the end to brown the topping. It looked lovely and had a crunch. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This dish was incredibly delicious! My family loved it. It had many steps, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this dish for Christmas dinner, and it was a huge hit. I did use vegetable stock to make it vegetarian, and omitted the rosemary only because of personal preference. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this last week for a dinner party. It was VERY good. The only reason I gave it 4 stars rather then 5 was because I thought the thyme overwhelmed the topping and made the rosemary disappear. The topping had more of a "poultry seasoning stuffing taste" NEXT time I will just leave it out and allow the rosemary to shine :) I served it with ham, scalloped potatoes and a brocolli salad. Faaaaabulous!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
loved it! everyone thought it was potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovefullofpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States