Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
After I baked the butternut squash for 50 minutes and considered the huge pile of bread crumbs/cheese that I was supposed to pour on the dish for the final 15 minutes, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. I used probably half of the cheese/bread crumb mixture and while I was very impressed with the flavor IDEA of the thing, it was just WAY TOO GREASY and salty. I may try what a previous reviewer said--twice the squash and half the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious way to serve Butternut Squash. It does make a lot so next time I make this I will take it to a family gathering versus cooking for my husband and I. Would definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was the biggest hit for our Christmas eve dinner! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe at a potluck with my fellow employees and fell in love with it! I decided to share it with my family over Christmas and they did too! My husband is not a big fan of Gruyere so I used Asiago, Jack and Sharp Cheddar and still topped it with Parmesan. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRoseBunch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made this a number of ties, and always get compliments on it. I sometimes roast the squash in the oven to get a caramelized taste to it, then put in in the pan with the broth. Both ways delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made a lot of substitutions and it still came out great. I love this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of butter, almond meal instead of bread crumbs, amber agave syrup instead of brown sugar, mozzarella cheese instead of Gruyere cheese, my seasonings were all from a bottle, and I used a different kind of squash. I was very worried about how it would taste - it was delicious. YUM!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I thought this was great! Someone gave me a butternut squash and I had no idea what to do with it so I tried this recipe and loved it. I did take the advise of other reviewers and went with a cheaper cheese blend of Sharp cheddar, Romano and parmesan cheese. My 9 year old daughter is vegetarian so we used veggie stock instead of chicken. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very tasty used the cheese I had in the fridge and my fresh dried herbs, added those to the stove top method used by Clare. Will definatly make this again Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good!! I thought way too much topping so I didn't put all on. The cheese especially seemed excessive and I only grated about 3/4 of the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was pretty good! I didn't use the Grueyer cheese just because of the price and just used what I had on hand a combination of Sharp Cheddar and Colby Jack. I liked it and probably will make it again, one of my daughters said she thought it tasted like a lasagna but with squash, my husband said in cube form it was too strong. He thinks next time I make it I should mash the squash first before adding the cheese topping instead of leaving it cubed. All in all it wasn't a bad recipe and I will make it again. I also add some freshly ground black pepper and realized I added a tbsp of brown sugar instead of a tsp. I think I will keep this addition. It gave it a wonderful mix of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States