Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I love butternut squash, and was totally surprised by the flavors in this dish. Very unique from any other butternut squash recipe I've made before. I forgot to add the brown sugar, but it still had the right amount of sweetness (for my taste) just from the natural sugars caramelizing. Next time I make it, I'll probably omit the brown sugar again. Bonus start because even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Domestic Gruyere is quite a bit cheaper than imported and works just as well. Either Gruyere or Emmenthaler have a unique flavor and melt well. I can't see substituting another cheese for either of these. I like the idea of roasting the squash, so much less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Would be better with 1/3 the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I picked this recipe for my church's Oktoberfest. Unfortunately I should have tested it out first to see how it would taste. I also accidentally put the broth in too early and the breadcrumbs were still powdery when they came out of the oven. It was not worth it and I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Pounds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Yum, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Amazing!! Made it exactly as the recipe stated the first time and it was delish....Tonight, I didn't have all the ingredients or the oven space. I made the onion/squash/sugar/garlic/stock mixture on the stove top and cooked until tender. Then I added chopped basil instead of rosemary. Cooked until almost all the liquid was out. When the oven freed up, I spread the mixture out on a small jelly roll pan and sprinkled with swiss cheese and italian bread crumbs and broiled for a few minutes. We ate all the squash and had leftover chicken. It's normally the veggie that is left over. A definite keeper as is or as a springboard for other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
After I baked the butternut squash for 50 minutes and considered the huge pile of bread crumbs/cheese that I was supposed to pour on the dish for the final 15 minutes, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. I used probably half of the cheese/bread crumb mixture and while I was very impressed with the flavor IDEA of the thing, it was just WAY TOO GREASY and salty. I may try what a previous reviewer said--twice the squash and half the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious way to serve Butternut Squash. It does make a lot so next time I make this I will take it to a family gathering versus cooking for my husband and I. Would definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was the biggest hit for our Christmas eve dinner! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe at a potluck with my fellow employees and fell in love with it! I decided to share it with my family over Christmas and they did too! My husband is not a big fan of Gruyere so I used Asiago, Jack and Sharp Cheddar and still topped it with Parmesan. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States