Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Strange that this is rated so high. Wasn't horrible but that's about the best I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
absolutely wonderful. It will be cooked often here. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It's darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I love this dish because my daughter is an ovo lacto vegetarian and I can substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth when I make this for her....very tasty comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so good! I used just cheddar cheese (and only two cups total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just ok, turned out bland. If I were to bake it again I would do it without the bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Love this! I love the savory squash. Following the advise of another reviewer, I did cook this mostly on the stove then put into the oven for awhile. The important part of stove top cooking is to make sure you get your onion caramelized. I also used asiago and mozzarella for my cheeses (it's what I had) and Italian bread crumbs. My husband loved it and he doesn't eat squash! It really didn't take that much work. I used a really good vegetable pealer to peel the squash and a sharp knife to cut it into chunks. Well worth the effort. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought it was good, just not great. Thanks for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
AMAZING! I have been searching for a good squash recipe for Thanksgiving for years now and I have finally found it! This was a hit! Absolutely no left-overs with this one! I added bleu cheese to the mix (we love bleu cheese in my family) and it was superb! I will be making this every year for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have been making a version of this recipe for years around the holidays and it always gets rave reviews. For those like me that like to tinker with recipes here are a couple variations I like to do: (1) you can roast the butternut squash halved in its skin at 425 for approx 45mins or until tender and then scoop out the squash and prepare the rest of the way as is--this gives the flavor a little more depth from the roasting (2) I am a carmelized onion junkie, so rather than mixing some of the sauteed onions and garlic into the butternut squash, I like to carmelize 3 onions with a little bit of thyme and butter and then top the butternut squash with them (the breadcrumb-cheese mixture goes on top of the that) before baking as directed. This creates a layered effect of the different flavors and the carmelized onion makes it even more savory. This is a great and versatile recipe that is just a little bit away from the traditional holiday fare you see--a little labor intensive--but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States