Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Amazingly good and fattening! Thanks to you, Merritt, we now have a T-giving Day "staple" side dish. I was just requested to pretty please make it again this year. Because of this recipe I actually became an "official" allrecipes.com member. Don't listen to the naysayers, this is a really good, satisfying-to-everyone dish. If you don't like one or all of the cheese in the recipe, use the cheese you like. Running out now to buy the Gruyere!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merrick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This has become a staple for Christmas dinner since we tried it a few years ago. It's definitely a pricey recipe to prepare (hence, we only do it at Christmas). But it's outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I am a huge fan of butternut squash, and this was delicious. I substituted panko bread crumbs, and used mixed Italian cheeses. I would note that using a shallower, bigger dish will result in a better "topping to squash" ratio. The first time I made this, I made it in a smaller, deeper dish, and I felt that I didn't have enough topping in proportion to the squash. But still delicious and not too difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
It tasted ok, but I felt I could still taste all the individual ingredients, rather than a combined new flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. Butternut squash prepared in more traditional ways makes me gag, but this dish has a savory taste that is comforting and delicious. I used about half the cheese recommended (3/4 sharp cheddar, 1/4 shaved parmesan) and it tasted wonderful. Can't wait to make this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Strange that this is rated so high. Wasn't horrible but that's about the best I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
absolutely wonderful. It will be cooked often here. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It's darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I love this dish because my daughter is an ovo lacto vegetarian and I can substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth when I make this for her....very tasty comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so good! I used just cheddar cheese (and only two cups total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States