Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
hummm...i honestly don't know what i did wrong. this has potential but i felt like I was serving a cheese/bread crumb crust with some squash. There was just way too much topping for the squash underneath. I am going to make again and I will review again, but am going to cut the topping in half or more. the squash was delish underneath. like I said, I felt the potential so I will m ake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The flavor of this dish was very yummy. I thought that the end result of this dish would be roasted chunks of squash with browned breadcrumbs and cheese, but the squash was so soft from being baked under the foil that the consistency was more like mashed potatoes. I think that next time I will experiment with the baking temperatures and methods to get the texture I want from this dish, but otherwise I think it is great. It wasn't enough to change the mind of my squash hating dinner-guests, though. :( Thanks Merrittorious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Glorious! The family was very pleased. I used panko too. The only thing I might do differently is add a bigger squash or cut down on broth and cheeses. This dish is quite a bit of cheese. Also used reduced fat cheddar which did not diminish the dish! 2 of the three adult women asked for the recipe! Don't miss this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This dish was a disappointment and embarrassment at Thanksgiving dinner. The taste was okay but the cheese mixture formed a dense helmet on top (hard to cut with a fork) and the squash was watery. An unpleasant experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Loved it! Made this to take to my in-law's on Thanksgiving and it got great reviews and requests for the recipe. The only thing I did differently was use sweet onion - 2 instead of 1 - carmelized both and mixed 1/2 with the squash and then put the other 1/2 on top just before adding the bread crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
WOW!!! I always thought Thanksgiving dinner was complete with all of classics my family prepared... until I made this gratin. Now I can't imagine Thanksgiving without it. I love this website. Thank you allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was the best side I served this Thanksgiving. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absoltely wonderful! I made this for the first time to take for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. I used panko bread crumbs and 1 tsp. for each of the dried herbs as this is what I had. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Well worth the effort for a Thanksgiving side dish. This was an amazing squash recipe! I had my husband work on this while I prepped everything else and I am so glad he wanted to help. We got many requests for the recipe. We didn't change a thing. I made this instead of yams/sweet potatoes and I have to say, I will make it every year from now on. We warmed up some leftovers this morning and had with a couple of eggs! It is still fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this for a potluck recently and it was a hit! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States