Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Yum, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Amazing!! Made it exactly as the recipe stated the first time and it was delish....Tonight, I didn't have all the ingredients or the oven space. I made the onion/squash/sugar/garlic/stock mixture on the stove top and cooked until tender. Then I added chopped basil instead of rosemary. Cooked until almost all the liquid was out. When the oven freed up, I spread the mixture out on a small jelly roll pan and sprinkled with swiss cheese and italian bread crumbs and broiled for a few minutes. We ate all the squash and had leftover chicken. It's normally the veggie that is left over. A definite keeper as is or as a springboard for other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
After I baked the butternut squash for 50 minutes and considered the huge pile of bread crumbs/cheese that I was supposed to pour on the dish for the final 15 minutes, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. I used probably half of the cheese/bread crumb mixture and while I was very impressed with the flavor IDEA of the thing, it was just WAY TOO GREASY and salty. I may try what a previous reviewer said--twice the squash and half the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious way to serve Butternut Squash. It does make a lot so next time I make this I will take it to a family gathering versus cooking for my husband and I. Would definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was the biggest hit for our Christmas eve dinner! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe at a potluck with my fellow employees and fell in love with it! I decided to share it with my family over Christmas and they did too! My husband is not a big fan of Gruyere so I used Asiago, Jack and Sharp Cheddar and still topped it with Parmesan. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made this a number of ties, and always get compliments on it. I sometimes roast the squash in the oven to get a caramelized taste to it, then put in in the pan with the broth. Both ways delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made a lot of substitutions and it still came out great. I love this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of butter, almond meal instead of bread crumbs, amber agave syrup instead of brown sugar, mozzarella cheese instead of Gruyere cheese, my seasonings were all from a bottle, and I used a different kind of squash. I was very worried about how it would taste - it was delicious. YUM!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I thought this was great! Someone gave me a butternut squash and I had no idea what to do with it so I tried this recipe and loved it. I did take the advise of other reviewers and went with a cheaper cheese blend of Sharp cheddar, Romano and parmesan cheese. My 9 year old daughter is vegetarian so we used veggie stock instead of chicken. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very tasty used the cheese I had in the fridge and my fresh dried herbs, added those to the stove top method used by Clare. Will definatly make this again Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States