Merritt Family Two Hour Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
The flavor of this turkey is INCREDIBLE. I just skimmed the pan drippings and thickened them, and it made the best gravy we've ever had. My husband has requested that this be the only way we make turkey in the future. To be fair, you probably need to allow a bit more than two hours to cook the turkey. My 13-lb turkey took about 2.5 hours, and that was after I re-sealed the foil and cranked the oven up to 500 for the last 20 minutes of cooking. It worked, but not in the time specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I should have known better then to think this turkey could have cooked in 2 hrs! After 4 1/2 hrs and it still wasn't done I took it out and cut off the breast meat so we could eat! I'm so glad I wasn't cooking for my parents or In-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The best turkey I have ever cooked!!!! My turkey was 12 lbs (as the recipe calls for) and it cooked perfectly with 2 hours oven time! Couldn't be easier! I will never make it any other way!!!! Even if I do have to allow extra time for a bigger bird...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Wonderful. I had a 20 pound turkey so I doubled the recipe. Amazingly it cooked in under 4 hours. The turkey is so moist and has amazing flavor. I did make a few changes because of what we had on hand. We did not have fresh parsley so I used fresh thyme, and the leafy part of celery. Other then that all was the same. Love this recipe and will likely make my turkeys like this again. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. I had a 13-lb turkey and it was done in about 2 hours. The white meat was extremely moist and the drippings made a very flavorful gravy. After the first hour, when I removed the foil, I did have to add more broth to the pan. And I am allergic to tomatoes so I skipped adding the tomato juice. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and was very, very pleased. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was the most flavorful and moist turkey I have ever made. Served for Christmas eve the family all raved about it. I did leave out the tomato juice as I don't like it and I added about 15 more minutes to both processes so and extra 30 minutes total for a larger turkey. I do cook my turkeys breast down and when I turned it over my husband said what is the matter with this turkey is it cooked? I told him the brown part was on the back so if you want a brown breast cook it breast up. I will always use this recipe to cook a turkey just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Yes, like other reviews have said, it really needed approximately 2.5-3 hours to cook, but this turkey was the most tender, delicate of my cooking life. Caveats include: the gravy made from juices in the turkey was FAR too sweet, what with all the fruit juices, so plan ahead and have turkey stock on hand. Loved this recipe. Browned up like something on the cover of a magazine. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I cooked a 12 lb. bird exactly as this recipe states and it was the best bird I've ever cooked and at 60 I've cooked a few! Sealing the foil so it doesn't leak but is not touching the bird is the secret. I also cooked mine at 425 the whole time! Fell off the bone! Only way I will cook a bird now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Was skeptical but my needed to cook a 10 lb bird quickly since I also wanted to brine. DId a quick 4 hour brine (double the kosher salt) and cooked for two hours in the oven, did not reduce temp, It was great. As good as my more long and involved Martha brine/cook recipe. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburnham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States