Merlot-Peppercorn Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Tasty but alot of peppercorns gives it a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Sauce came out ok. I have trouble with sauces to don't go by me. I have a real problem making sauces come out correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
did not care for this recipe at all. I should have realized it wouldn't meet my preferred creamy sauce taste. Don't care for the wine reduction flavour. Would probably be very good if that's your taste liking. sorry...probably won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I agree that the whole peppercorns were a bit much, but maybe soaking them would help. Next time I plan to use cracked pepper. Delicious, though! Compliments all around the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Not good. This is not a sauce. This is a reduction of primeval elements. 1 garlic clove vs. 3 tbs of worcestershire sauce and a half pound of pepper???????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
After reading some of the other reviews, I reduced the peppercorn to 1 tbsp, and reduced the Worcestershire sauce to 1 tbsp. and increased the wine to 1/2 cup (I used Cab since it was all I had). I sauteed the mushrooms, garlic and Gardein Beefless Tips over high heat until "beef" was seared then added the liquid and reduced the liquid by half. Amazing flavor and super easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Awesome! and gave me an idea for a spin on my own recipe, i added a bit more garlic and merlot and used soaked green peppercorns and lots of them instead of black, much softer and not as strong so i added a liitle bit of cracked black pepper. Removed my fillets from the pan and threw it together with the steak juices, 10 mins all done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Reminded me of peppercorn steak I had in Germany at a castle while I was there waiting to come home after being sent there from Afghanistan. It was the first real thing I had been able to eat and keep down so this is very special to me. I too added cream to it because the sauce I had also had cream but everything else was the same. Thank you for bringing back excellent memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divemistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I followed most of the suggestions- cut worcestershire in half, added a bit more wine- but still could have cut down on the vinegar. Overall good recipe but needs some fine tuning for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and I did not like it. In fact it ruined what was supposed to be a romantic dinner. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States