Merlot Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is good stuff. I prefer it with half the amount of butter, another splash of soy sauce and 1/2 tsp of pepper. It is a great braising liquid for beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was so good. We had this for our Dinner Club feeding 16 people and I love the way you can adjust the recipe based on amount needed. Everyone that had it loved it. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Great sauce. Love it. used only 5 Tbsp. butter though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is amazing.... perfect way to accent a fillet. Made it on Christmas day and people were blown away. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
It wasn't for me, I did everything exactly, maybe I didn't boil long enough? It's my first time using the balsamic, maybe if I new what a dash of soy sauce was? Maybe someone has some pointers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I found this really didn't compliment my steak much. It was good by itself but not flavorful enough with the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was good. I thought it made a ton so you can use it the next night for a different cut of meat for sure. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Fantastic sauce, I added just a little bit of ground black pepper for a little more flavor, I used the sauce drizzled over some t-bone steaks, and it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was delicious! I made the sauce as directed but used 2 tbsp honey not the four. I was nervous it would be too sweet if I did. Two was just right for our taste. I did add some black pepper and a dash of crushed red because we like a bit of heat. I had sauteed mushrooms and onions that I added to the last few minutes of cooking time. Served over a grilled steak. I was concerned as the aroma was heavy on the vinegar but it mellowed as it cooked. Everyone enjoyed the sauce and wiped the plate with bread to get the last bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I really wanted to love this! Before adding all the butter, I took part of it out and added the ratio of butter and it just seemed to be overpowered with Balsamic (and I used a nice grade Balsamic). So, I added about 3/4 cup more wine and let it simmer another 20-30 minutes and added the butter. That did it!! I was very happy with it and would make it again with that change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States