Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
These were wonderful! Not only are they gorgeous, but they're tasty, too. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup; I don't like my meringue to be very sweet. I'm odd, though. The rest of my family prefers a sweeter meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I made these 20 years ago and lost the recipe. The work is well worth the results. A great hit with lots of oohs and aahs. Thanks for helping make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
These candy mushrooms are awesome. I like to serve mine in a basket. I also dust mine with cinnamon instead of cocoa...gives it a nice taste. These do take a lot of time but are well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I didn't find these took much time at all! There aren't a lot of ingredients to assemble and when you beat on high it only takes a few minutes to get a good meringue, and the piping was really easy too...I don't have a pastry bag so i just cut a corner out a zip-lock and used that, and it worked fine. The only real comment I have is that this recipe makes a lot of merigue. I guess you could make the mushrooms a lot bigger than life sized, but i'd say you could probably halve it and still get 36.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
i absolutely love love love this recipe!!i thought it was a relativrly easy recipe,and comes out delicious!!the recipe is huge though. i made LARGE meringues and still made around 36!! i highly recomend making!!!! will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
My mom often made these when I was young. My kids and I now make them toghether, often for gift giving and the recipe is always requested. My daughter even won first place in French class cook-off with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
definitely a fun recipe - not the easiest but a fun challenge. This is not a recipe for a humid day-the meringue is sticky and never dries out. ***Don't use a silicone mat, use parchment. They stick bad enough that you will damage them prying them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Oh, I looooove these! So cute and original! I will plan to bring these to a cookie exchange this year - finally something different yet tasty! I made recipe as directed and they were great, though my stems were a bit small - probably needed to whip them until they were a bit thicker. They still turned out adorable! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOLLYRAE1
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Oh, and many thanks to foodaholic for the great professional-looking photos! Thanks to everyone's comments! I like the idea of using colored corn syrup to paint polka dots and make 'fantasy' mushrooms; also to make the 'gills'. So sorry about the confusion of chocolate to use. The brand I used to use was Wilton Candy Melts. Now I like to use Giardhelli (sp?) dark semisweet chips, melted. Note - I tried tonight, to make these with the pasteurized egg whites you buy in cartons? They did not whip to the same stiffness as natural whites, though the volume seemed about the same. Maybe a little less. They are in the oven now...I will report back on any major differences. But I am thinking one should stay with the natural, separate-them-yourself egg whites. *I'm back! the only difference I found between the whites from carton and natural whites - was that the stems from the carton whites did not quite keep their shape as well during baking. I tried to make them tall and they didn't quite stay tall. But still fine. I've tried some new final touches too - before the chocolate hardens, on some I sprinkle the tiny colored balls to look like 'spores'...also on some I sprinkle finely chopped candy canes...and on the tops of large mushrooms, I put a couple dabs of melted chocolate, then 'paste' on 3 tiny nonpariels ("snowcaps" candies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These are soo easy to make, very few ingredients. Really not that messy at all, just have to be organized. Turned out great, everybody thought they were so cute and very delicious too! I did cut down on the sugar though; I only added 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. Really good though! I made half as mushrooms, and the other half, I added some chocolate chips to the batter, and dropped spoonfuls onto tray, and made them as meringue cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States