Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Unbelievable! They look so much like the real thing, it's scary! My advice is to make 30% more stems than caps, because some of mine flopped over. Thanks for the coolest recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I had my doubts about this, but WOW!! This was fun and really rewarding! The first batch was a little goofy but I got better and better with each batch I made. I gave away a ton of them for Christmas and received rave reviews! I will definitely make these again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
The meringue mushrooms are in the oven as we speak. And it was really easy to make. Though I had some problems with the amount of eggs and sugar since we don't use the cup measurement here. They were a lot of fun to make but it takes some time before you have found the best way to make the stems. (It was the first time I used the pastrybag so it also could just be me :) ) I can't wait of them to be finish and taste them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
SO GOOD! And much easier than I thought they would be! I made these for our Christmas yule log cake but ended up making them 3 times as they just kept disappearing off my kitchen counter they are delicious! They look so real that I actually put a real mushroom on the plate with them and my husband almost ate it. (I only stopped him because he was handing it to our toddler son who probably wouldnt appreciate the practical joke.) Seriously though everyone thought they were real mushrooms on the cake! Thank you for making me look so talented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kathy813
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is my first review ever but I felt the need to write one after this recipe won me the most creative cookie award at a Christmas cookie exchange. One thing that I did a little differently was to use a Martha Stewart suggestion to heat the sugar and 1/2 cup water over low heat until the sugar dissolves and then bring to a boil cooking until the mixture reaches 248 degrees.(hard-ball stage) on a candy thermometer. That way I didn’t have any problems getting the sugar to dissolve when I added it to the egg whites. I also found that I had to turn the oven off after two hours and just let the meringue sit in the oven for hours (one batch I left overnight) until it was hard (which could have been because it was raining when I made the meringue). I also waited until after they were cooked to add the cocoa. I just used my finger to smudge the cocoa over the top and stems. I used canned chocolate frosting to coat the underside of the top and to connect the stem to the top. Everyone raved about them at the cookie exchange! Don’t be scared . . I never made meringue before and it was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin F
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used this recipe to adorn a Yule Log (there's a picture among the uploaded photos) and it turned out great! I actually quartered the recipe since my Yule Log wasn't very big, so I only used 1/8 cup egg whites (which was a single egg white). Although it took a bit longer to turn to meringue consistency than it does when there's multiple eggs, it still worked fine! I ended up making a meringue caterpillar as well. The meringue is easy to work with (I used the Ziploc bag method, for easy cleanup afterward) and they tasted yummy. I tried painting some with food coloring (not mixed with anything else) and others with food coloring mixed with corn syrup; I prefer the unmixed food coloring because with the corn syrup + coloring, the dots never dry out and remain sticky to the touch. I will definitely keep this recipe and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Oh man were these easy! It says it takes some time to do but they really don't. They came out perfect! I made them for a Bouche de Noel my mom made, so cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Two thumbs up! Fun to make with kids, look very cool, and pretty yummy too. I didn't have any confectioners coating on hand, so I used hazelnut spread (ie Nutella) and piped the tops with plenty of it so that they almost had a filling. If you want to use the leftover egg yolks, I highly recommend the Amazingly Good Eggnog recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Also rub some nearly-dried chocolate around the edges of the cap to look like dirt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie diplomacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed these. I've never made meringue cookies before, and was a little skeptical. The hardest part was putting them together. And it wasn't hard - just time consuming. I used white chocolate to glue them together as that's all I had on hand. I will definitely be making them again! I like being able to make different sizes, sprinkled with cinnamon, or crushed candycane - there's so many variations in the reviews, they can be customized for any occasion! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States