Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
So much fun to make! My 12 year old daughter had so much fun with this recipe! They really turned out looking like real mushrooms. Friends and family were amazed they were edible and that my daughter did most of the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
It's going to take some practice to get the shapes right, but then again, I've never really worked with meringue, or a piping bag. I loved them, they were too sweet, borderline on burning the back of my throat. I'm going to cut back the sugar by 1/2 C next time. The second time I made them I tried mixing the cocoa powder in the meringue instead of dusting, it's definitely *not* recommended. All in all, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly13jane
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I did a slightly different version, dying half of the meringue with food coloring, then I hollowed out the caps a bit like another person suggested and used white chocolate to "glue" the stems in place and make white dots. So mine were more Mario Bros style of mushrooms. Great decorations for cupcakes if you make them mini-sized!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly13jane
Home Town: Wilton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made these for Easter and everyone raved about them. My intention was to substitute almond extract for the vanilla, but in my haste I grabbed the peppermint. Thankfully I only put in 1/2 teaspoon. It was a happy accident. It complimented the chocolate nicely. I did flub these a little, and they still turned out relatively well. I waited to add the tartar, salt, and extract until I the eggwhites where already making soft peaks. I think this affected the stiffness/ ability of the meringue to hold it's shape well. I also was a little concerned that when I took these out of the oven, the inside was still soft. However, after letting them sit and cool on the cookie sheet they hardened and turned out to be just right. Thanks for a great recipe, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleybrooks
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made these for my neighborhood's Christmas cookie swap. They turned out so great, even though I made them on a rainy day! I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
super cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made these and took them to a party in a wicker basket. People thought they were real mushrooms. They were a huge hit! They were easy to make and will become a regular party food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stanzi W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Unbelievable! They look so much like the real thing, it's scary! My advice is to make 30% more stems than caps, because some of mine flopped over. Thanks for the coolest recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I had my doubts about this, but WOW!! This was fun and really rewarding! The first batch was a little goofy but I got better and better with each batch I made. I gave away a ton of them for Christmas and received rave reviews! I will definitely make these again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
The meringue mushrooms are in the oven as we speak. And it was really easy to make. Though I had some problems with the amount of eggs and sugar since we don't use the cup measurement here. They were a lot of fun to make but it takes some time before you have found the best way to make the stems. (It was the first time I used the pastrybag so it also could just be me :) ) I can't wait of them to be finish and taste them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States