Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Stunning, lifelike mushrooms! Even professional bakers were marveling at these little cuties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I did everything wrong and these came out AMAZING!!! I live in Oregon, so needless to say, it was humid. I also didn't have a pastry bag, so I used a ziploc with a small cut in a corner to squeeze out my shrooms. They came out PERFECTLY! I was blown away. They fooled two guests into thinking they were real, raw mushrooms. I placed them in a cardboard fruit basket from the farm. The only changes I made are that I doubled the vanilla (on accident, but it was a good accident) and I froze them when they were done to prevent the humidity from destroying them. It worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
5 stars for presentation. 3 stars for taste. I made these to decorate the Buche de Noel I'm making later this week so I'm not too concerned with the taste. Maybe less vanilla extract next time. Also, I was not able to pipe the stems and I do not suggest not piping the stems. My mushrooms were short but still very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
these are super cute but pretty time consuming - I would consider these more of a decoration than something you'd be dying to eat - in the end - a lot of work for something not so tasty, but SUPER cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Rave reviews from a cookie party. They're a little tricky to figure out in the beginning, but once you crush about five by accident, the other 100 or so turn out AMAZING. I've made several batches since my first try, all with high praise from friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were perfect! If you let the stems sit on the baking sheet a few minutes before baking, they become a little stiffer and you can shape them with your finger. Unfortunately, it wasn't humid the day I made them, but it was the next day. They became soft and almost squishy, but I put them in the freezer and they came out fine. Will be making this recipe for other cake decorations as well. Better to make these the day you need them. The longer they sit out, the softer they become. Very tasty and realistic...Simple recipe and easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This recipe didn't quite work out for me but I know if I made the recipe again they would turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were amazing! I added candy canes for some peeppermint flavouring. They have become a christmas tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very very good. Crisp and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I've been making these for years for my young cousins who have a severe gluten intolerance. These were the only "cookies" they could have, and they're so much fun to make. Best thing about them is the less careful you are, the more realistic they look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States