Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was very nervous about making these mushrooms. The meringue is delicious and they were much easier to make than I expected. I watched a video on YouTube also - this alleviated some of my reluctance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Super fun and super creative! A little time consuming but worth it. For any coffee lovers: I switched the vanilla extract for coffee extract and used expresso powder instead of cocoa and they were a HUGE hit. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Love this recipe. Easy to do (although a little time consuming) but everyone is so amused by them it's worth it! Great flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
SO incredibly cute! Add the sugar slowly, & get those egg white peaks well fluffed! The recipe makes a lot but don't halve it first time if you need practice with piping. Don't try to reshape, it won't work. Odd shapes are cute! Ok to put them close together on the pan as they don't expand in the oven. Use parchment paper. They will come off a pan otherwise, but not as easily. Sift the powdered chocolate on caps AND stems halfway through, then use a brush to smear the powder around when you take them out. Looks so real!! Beware they won't harden up until they come out of the oven. Don't take them off the pan until they have completely cooled as they will stick. When putting together, start with the "ugliest" ones for practice. Hold cap gently and twist your finger or a butter knife to make a hole in it for the stem to go into. Use dark or bittersweet chocolate and coat the whole bottom of the cap (like the gills would look). The meringue is very sweet, but the bittersweet chocolate totally balances it out! Don't worry about getting a little chocolate on the caps, as it just looks like dirt. When done, dip the broken pieces in the remaining chocolate for your own little treat. :) Store in fridge when done (I had them in my fridge for 3 days...uncovered, and they were great) which keeps them from getting sticky. These take a little bit of time, but are well worth it, and fun! I can't believe how real they look when they're done. Have fun! Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made these last Christmas to go with a chocolate Yule Log. They were a lot easier than I thought they'd be. I guess I did a good job making them because the grown kids took one look and asked if those were real mushrooms. They looked and tasted great! The only down side to them is humidity. They have to be stored in a dry place at room temperature. My yule log was a big hit in appearance and taste. Will be doing this again, I'm sure, and I will probably also do a couple of pumpkin yule logs (yum!) with cream cheese icing and these meringue mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
They're awesome, the compliments never stop, a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Taste great, but do not look nearly as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
toosweet, but cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So easy and people thought they were real!! The only thing I changed was I melted chocolate kisses and used them to put the caps and stems together. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Easy to make, and really resemble real mushrooms, goes perfectly with the "buche de noel" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States