Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Was so much easier to make these then I imagined. They held really well and looked so cute and realistic. Great little way to spruce up a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zuzie
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Perfect recipe! I have made them a dozen times at least. I bring them to xmas parties and mail them to old friends (they ship well and store for weeks in ziplocks). If you take care in your presentation and serve them mid-summer, people may ask you how sure you are these are not poisonous mushrooms :). If your first batch of meringue is not stiff enough for making stems - don't despair - just use it all to make caps. Then make a second batch on a drier day, leaving out vanilla and being extra-careful to make the perfect stiff meringue for stems. I found that my hand mixer with two beaters is much better at making a stiff meringue than when I use the single whisk attachment. A cookie decorating bag with the tip removed works really well for making stems, but a larger/stiffer ziplock will do in a pinch. I usually don't measure the volume of eggs, and just use 3 large whites for this recipe. It still works if you leave out the salt and cream of tartar, but perhaps the eggs whip better with these ingredients. Doubling the recipe does not quite double your yield, because so much depends on the amount of air you manage to incorporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have used many meringue recipes over the years but this will the only one from now on! I decided on this recipe because I wanted to do something fun with some leftover egg whites. The recipe came together perfectly and the mushrooms look great! They were a big hit with everyone at Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDWHISPER84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
made these a long time ago, but never got around to reviewing these things are AMAZING! I did feel I should have gone a bit lighter on the cream of tartar, but that's for another day ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used this recipe many times in years past and loved them. I am very glad to see it again as I had lost the one I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I found these to be great. They took longer than the 1 hour to bake through but looked and tasted great. I made these for a Super Bowl Party in 2012 and got lots of compliments. I used a micro plane and flattened the tops of the stem, then I "glued" the cap on with the use of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millinocket, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was very nervous about making these mushrooms. The meringue is delicious and they were much easier to make than I expected. I watched a video on YouTube also - this alleviated some of my reluctance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Super fun and super creative! A little time consuming but worth it. For any coffee lovers: I switched the vanilla extract for coffee extract and used expresso powder instead of cocoa and they were a HUGE hit. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Love this recipe. Easy to do (although a little time consuming) but everyone is so amused by them it's worth it! Great flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
SO incredibly cute! Add the sugar slowly, & get those egg white peaks well fluffed! The recipe makes a lot but don't halve it first time if you need practice with piping. Don't try to reshape, it won't work. Odd shapes are cute! Ok to put them close together on the pan as they don't expand in the oven. Use parchment paper. They will come off a pan otherwise, but not as easily. Sift the powdered chocolate on caps AND stems halfway through, then use a brush to smear the powder around when you take them out. Looks so real!! Beware they won't harden up until they come out of the oven. Don't take them off the pan until they have completely cooled as they will stick. When putting together, start with the "ugliest" ones for practice. Hold cap gently and twist your finger or a butter knife to make a hole in it for the stem to go into. Use dark or bittersweet chocolate and coat the whole bottom of the cap (like the gills would look). The meringue is very sweet, but the bittersweet chocolate totally balances it out! Don't worry about getting a little chocolate on the caps, as it just looks like dirt. When done, dip the broken pieces in the remaining chocolate for your own little treat. :) Store in fridge when done (I had them in my fridge for 3 days...uncovered, and they were great) which keeps them from getting sticky. These take a little bit of time, but are well worth it, and fun! I can't believe how real they look when they're done. Have fun! Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States