Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
SO GOOD! And much easier than I thought they would be! I made these for our Christmas yule log cake but ended up making them 3 times as they just kept disappearing off my kitchen counter they are delicious! They look so real that I actually put a real mushroom on the plate with them and my husband almost ate it. (I only stopped him because he was handing it to our toddler son who probably wouldnt appreciate the practical joke.) Seriously though everyone thought they were real mushrooms on the cake! Thank you for making me look so talented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kathy813
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is my first review ever but I felt the need to write one after this recipe won me the most creative cookie award at a Christmas cookie exchange. One thing that I did a little differently was to use a Martha Stewart suggestion to heat the sugar and 1/2 cup water over low heat until the sugar dissolves and then bring to a boil cooking until the mixture reaches 248 degrees.(hard-ball stage) on a candy thermometer. That way I didn’t have any problems getting the sugar to dissolve when I added it to the egg whites. I also found that I had to turn the oven off after two hours and just let the meringue sit in the oven for hours (one batch I left overnight) until it was hard (which could have been because it was raining when I made the meringue). I also waited until after they were cooked to add the cocoa. I just used my finger to smudge the cocoa over the top and stems. I used canned chocolate frosting to coat the underside of the top and to connect the stem to the top. Everyone raved about them at the cookie exchange! Don’t be scared . . I never made meringue before and it was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin F
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used this recipe to adorn a Yule Log (there's a picture among the uploaded photos) and it turned out great! I actually quartered the recipe since my Yule Log wasn't very big, so I only used 1/8 cup egg whites (which was a single egg white). Although it took a bit longer to turn to meringue consistency than it does when there's multiple eggs, it still worked fine! I ended up making a meringue caterpillar as well. The meringue is easy to work with (I used the Ziploc bag method, for easy cleanup afterward) and they tasted yummy. I tried painting some with food coloring (not mixed with anything else) and others with food coloring mixed with corn syrup; I prefer the unmixed food coloring because with the corn syrup + coloring, the dots never dry out and remain sticky to the touch. I will definitely keep this recipe and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Oh man were these easy! It says it takes some time to do but they really don't. They came out perfect! I made them for a Bouche de Noel my mom made, so cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Two thumbs up! Fun to make with kids, look very cool, and pretty yummy too. I didn't have any confectioners coating on hand, so I used hazelnut spread (ie Nutella) and piped the tops with plenty of it so that they almost had a filling. If you want to use the leftover egg yolks, I highly recommend the Amazingly Good Eggnog recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Also rub some nearly-dried chocolate around the edges of the cap to look like dirt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie diplomacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed these. I've never made meringue cookies before, and was a little skeptical. The hardest part was putting them together. And it wasn't hard - just time consuming. I used white chocolate to glue them together as that's all I had on hand. I will definitely be making them again! I like being able to make different sizes, sprinkled with cinnamon, or crushed candycane - there's so many variations in the reviews, they can be customized for any occasion! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I would definitely practice before taking them to a cookie exchange! But they are really fun. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These are fantastic! This recipe is incredibly easy, it did take a little bit of time to assemble the mushrooms but it was fun. And the end result is well worth it. I made a test run of these and took them to work so my co-workers could try them (they love being guinea pigs!) Everyone raved about them and couldn't believe that they were not real mushrooms. Several people asked for the recipe. I had a few minor problems while baking these, which was on my end. I was able to pipe the caps, but when trying to pipe the stems the meringue was really runny and wouldn't hold its shape. I was able to easily remedy this by putting it back into the bowl and whisking it until it was really fluffy. Also, at an hour and at 225 degrees my meringues turned really brown. I think next time I will lower the temp to 200 degrees and bake slightly longer. I think I might also cut back on the sugar because they are really sweet as is. I did one thing differently and used white chocolate as well. After applying melted semi-sweet chocolate to the caps, I let it set for a few minutes then applied a layer of melted white chocolate. Then I made the "gills" with a tooth pick. I will definitely be making this recipe again, putting this in my Christmas favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnstoops08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Export, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This recipe is great! Easy to make and they look exactly like mushrooms! I made three times in two days. One thing I found out is that you for sure need exactly 1/2 cup of egg whites. The second time I made them it looked like I had close to 1/2 cup egg whites with 3 extra large egg whites. The meringue never got to the stiff peak stage. 4 extra large egg whites is perfect! I also baked them for 1 hour and 15 minutes. They look very difficult, but they are really quite easy to make. A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States