Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have made the mushrooms and they look so real and do make the best gift! Last Christmas I used this recipe and added icing food coloring gel to it to make tiny Christmas trees and adorned them with colored sugar sprinkles to decorate. I am using this recipe again this year. Thank You for this post it has become a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Super easy and fun! I made several of these for yule log cakes I made. Everyone thought they were real mushrooms! I used melted chocolate to fuse the caps to the stems. I also dotted some chocolate spots to the caps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Fantastic and fun. Personally I don't think this took much more work than most fancy cookies, but time (waiting) yes! I used microwave melted semi-sweet chocolate chips to connect tops to bottoms. Placing your freshly connected caps and stems upside down in empty egg cartons is a great way to allow you to keep moving. Put the carton in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes and your ready to setup some more. I rotated 2x18 egg cartons and never had to wait. The biggest challenge is creating good stems that are straight enough to support the shroom standing! For my first attempt I was only batting about 40% but next time I'll do better. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I'm sorry, but even when I went over the tops of the caps with a wet finger my mushrooms turned out horribly uneven. I even started them without the tips on top! I even watched the Martha Stewart episode on making meringue mushrooms! Any suggestions? I thought this was going to be a fairly easy task but it turned into a horrible mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These turned out perfect. I used melted chocolate as the glue and they are beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is a great and easy treat! I made them last night for the first time and was thrilled to find out how easy the are. I have never worked with meringue before or piped anything from a bag(large zip-lock works great) and my mushrooms looked like the real thing. HINT: about meringue, I left my mushrooms on top of the stove and planned to bag them up in the morning. When I returned the next day they were very very sticky due to the humidity in my kitchen. I am scrambling right now to try to dry them out by setting them close to our wood stove, hair dryer and cook stove(I made several batches). And on top of all that it started raining tody!!! (BIG NO-NO FOR MERINGUE) Thank goodness our cookie exchange isn't until Tuesday, so I still have some time to make more if necessary. Sure am glad this recipe is soooo easy! P.S. Just checked on my mushrooms.....oven at 150 degrees worked perfect.....hair dryer did not :0}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are wonderfully fun. My DH hates mushrooms but just loves these. I made a batch for work tomorrow and am excited to hear the comments. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These were amazing! As other reviewers have said this is foolproof - I was missing an attatchment for my piping bag so ended up snipping a hole in a freezer bag to pipe my mushrooms. Despite the meringues looking VERY rustic prior to assembling the final result was totally realistic! I rolled the mushrooms in cocoa rather than dusting and just blew off the excess. My brother in law wouldnt touch them at first stating ' I hate mushrooms'. Took a few minutes of convincing before he examined them enough to realise they were meringue. Used them to border my 3-year olds birthday cake, went down a treat. I subbed the same amount of white vinegar for the cream of tartar as had none in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
So much fun to make! My 12 year old daughter had so much fun with this recipe! They really turned out looking like real mushrooms. Friends and family were amazed they were edible and that my daughter did most of the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States