Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
i found 1/4 tsp of salt to be too much. they tasted salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I had never made or even eaten meringues before, but I made these for my godson. He loved them and so did I. I didn't make the mushroom shape though, just used a large star tip and swirled them. Dusted with cocoa and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happywaiwai
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Fantastic recipe! My sister and I made these for our Christmas dinner and it was a hit! They looked so real that people thought we were serving uncooked shrooms straight from the container. I ended up throwing my first batch away because I had over beat the egg whites before adding the cream of tarter. The egg whites did not peak and did not hold it's shape. Follow the directions carefully! My family doesn't like super sweet desserts and this was definitely on the extreme end of the sweetness scale. Next time I'll reduce the sugar by at least 1/4 of a cup, if not half. Overall, easy and fun to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywaiwai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These tasted great and looked delicious. I got compliments from everyone at my party. I'll be sure to make these again, thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria_gza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have made the mushrooms and they look so real and do make the best gift! Last Christmas I used this recipe and added icing food coloring gel to it to make tiny Christmas trees and adorned them with colored sugar sprinkles to decorate. I am using this recipe again this year. Thank You for this post it has become a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Super easy and fun! I made several of these for yule log cakes I made. Everyone thought they were real mushrooms! I used melted chocolate to fuse the caps to the stems. I also dotted some chocolate spots to the caps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Fantastic and fun. Personally I don't think this took much more work than most fancy cookies, but time (waiting) yes! I used microwave melted semi-sweet chocolate chips to connect tops to bottoms. Placing your freshly connected caps and stems upside down in empty egg cartons is a great way to allow you to keep moving. Put the carton in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes and your ready to setup some more. I rotated 2x18 egg cartons and never had to wait. The biggest challenge is creating good stems that are straight enough to support the shroom standing! For my first attempt I was only batting about 40% but next time I'll do better. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I'm sorry, but even when I went over the tops of the caps with a wet finger my mushrooms turned out horribly uneven. I even started them without the tips on top! I even watched the Martha Stewart episode on making meringue mushrooms! Any suggestions? I thought this was going to be a fairly easy task but it turned into a horrible mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These turned out perfect. I used melted chocolate as the glue and they are beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is a great and easy treat! I made them last night for the first time and was thrilled to find out how easy the are. I have never worked with meringue before or piped anything from a bag(large zip-lock works great) and my mushrooms looked like the real thing. HINT: about meringue, I left my mushrooms on top of the stove and planned to bag them up in the morning. When I returned the next day they were very very sticky due to the humidity in my kitchen. I am scrambling right now to try to dry them out by setting them close to our wood stove, hair dryer and cook stove(I made several batches). And on top of all that it started raining tody!!! (BIG NO-NO FOR MERINGUE) Thank goodness our cookie exchange isn't until Tuesday, so I still have some time to make more if necessary. Sure am glad this recipe is soooo easy! P.S. Just checked on my mushrooms.....oven at 150 degrees worked perfect.....hair dryer did not :0}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States