Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Ok, I made these today except I just made the actual meringue part of the recipe so I didn't make them into mushrooms. This was the first time that I have ever made meringues and these turned out great and were very easy to make. I'm sorry I didnt do the full recipe, but since it was my first time doing meringue I wanted to use a recipe that was 5 stars and I thought Id start with the basics. I will try the full recipe soon though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Being a young adult, I hadn't heard of these small confections before. So I just had to include them into my holiday cookie gift assortments. Although many people had seen them before, my age group were just floored! A definate treat to leave an impression. The chocolate cofentioners--- I wasn't sure what EXACTLLY is was, so I used Cocoa powder, tasted great ( almost like really marshmallowy hot chocolate!) I also dyed some coconut green, mixed into some corn syrup and dipped the stem bottoms in there for some added realness. For some fantasy-- we made some colored corn syrup and painted little spots to resemble Wonderland mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
These are super cute. I found that if you make a little hole in the bottom of the caps, you can fill them with chocolate for an extra little surprise. For super realistic mushrooms, paint the bottom of the cap with chocolate, add the stem, then use a toothpick to make the 'gills' going out from around the base. Everyone thought these were real mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These are quite some work, but absoltely amazing. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This drew raves at the party I went to at Christmas. A very extraordinary looking meringue!! Pretty to look at good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGIEE
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I loved making these impressive meringue mushrooms! They were really easy and so cute when put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Not only are they tasty, they are so cute!! I made these & people went crazy. They look very hard to make, but after a couple you get the hang of it. I would also recommend cooking the stems on a sep. cookie sheet from the tops, they may cook at different times. Enjoy this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I had a bunch of leftover egg whites from making eggnog and decided to try these meringues. I used a ziplock back and cut the corner off to pipe out the stems and caps. This worked quite well but some of my stems ended up being too short and fat. I found that the mushrooms looked more realistic when I dipped my finger in cocoa and smudged it on after baking the mushrooms rather than sprinkling it on beforehand. Overall, these were pretty easy to make but quite time consuming. I live in Florida so we really don't have any non-humid days even in December. These set up pretty well considering. A few were still kind of chewy in the center but they were crispy on the outside. A tasty sugary treat that looks really impressive! Edited: I am changing my 4 star rating to a 5 because of how much every liked these at our party tonight. Every mushroom got eaten and no one could believe I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I was so happy to find this recipe. A childhood friend's mother used to make these and I thought it was an Icelandic treat, because that is where she was from. I have been trying to get the recipe from her. I had never worked with Meringue before so it was tough. I used the zip lock bag as a pastry bag, but that didn't work so well. The stems did not turn out at all, and I yielded only 12 mushroom "caps" I did sample the stems with the confectioners chocolate and the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was a pretty easy recipe and they turned out looking great! They are a great for guests! I am not a great cook, but even I was able to make this w/o trouble and they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States