Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Not only are they tasty, they are so cute!! I made these & people went crazy. They look very hard to make, but after a couple you get the hang of it. I would also recommend cooking the stems on a sep. cookie sheet from the tops, they may cook at different times. Enjoy this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I had a bunch of leftover egg whites from making eggnog and decided to try these meringues. I used a ziplock back and cut the corner off to pipe out the stems and caps. This worked quite well but some of my stems ended up being too short and fat. I found that the mushrooms looked more realistic when I dipped my finger in cocoa and smudged it on after baking the mushrooms rather than sprinkling it on beforehand. Overall, these were pretty easy to make but quite time consuming. I live in Florida so we really don't have any non-humid days even in December. These set up pretty well considering. A few were still kind of chewy in the center but they were crispy on the outside. A tasty sugary treat that looks really impressive! Edited: I am changing my 4 star rating to a 5 because of how much every liked these at our party tonight. Every mushroom got eaten and no one could believe I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I was so happy to find this recipe. A childhood friend's mother used to make these and I thought it was an Icelandic treat, because that is where she was from. I have been trying to get the recipe from her. I had never worked with Meringue before so it was tough. I used the zip lock bag as a pastry bag, but that didn't work so well. The stems did not turn out at all, and I yielded only 12 mushroom "caps" I did sample the stems with the confectioners chocolate and the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was a pretty easy recipe and they turned out looking great! They are a great for guests! I am not a great cook, but even I was able to make this w/o trouble and they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Really very easy to make, but people are very impressed. They store very well in an air tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
So cute, and not very hard I might add. I live in Panama where the humidity is something like 90% and they still turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
These "mushrooms" are sure to impress everyone, and they're really much easier to make than seems possible! The recipe has everything- great presentation, good taste and texture, and it's low in fat! I made these for a wedding shower, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I will admit these were a little confusing to make, only beacause I wasnt sure if I was piping the stems right. I dusted with cinnamon and used melted white chocolate as my 'glue' Only change i would make is maybe adding chocolate chips next time as i dont like a 'bare' menigue Presentation was verry creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These mushrooms are absolutely magical. They look so real, my husband was convinced I'd gone to the farmer's market without him! The only changes I made to the recipe were in the assembly. After removing the caps from the oven, I used a pastry brush to lightly smear the cocoa powder, going for a 'wild mushroom' look. After they had cooled, I sliced the pointed tips off of the stem pieces to make them flat. One at a time, I painted melted dark chocolate on the bottoms of the caps with a small craft brush, then pressed the cut end of the stem piece into the center. As each one was finished, I placed them cap side down in empty egg cartons so they wouldn't topple over. I left them to dry for a few hours, then sealed them in an airtight container. These were perfect on our Buche de Noel, but I can't wait until next Christmas to make these again. I think they'll be great for Easter, too. Thank you so much, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were the definite show-stealer at my New Year's Party. I was SO impressed with both how easy they were, and how realistic they looked! If you're like me (and the baker at my local supermarket) thinking, "What the heck is chocolate confectioner's coating?", then don't panic. I melted 6 or 7 Hershey kisses and they did the trick perfectly. I've heard meringue can be tricky, so I made sure to slowly sprinkle the sugar one tbsp at a time, and beat it lots and lots and lots, and it worked. Thanks to hungry girl for the zip-lock bag tip. I'll be making these for years and years to come. Thanks Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States