Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
these are super cute but pretty time consuming - I would consider these more of a decoration than something you'd be dying to eat - in the end - a lot of work for something not so tasty, but SUPER cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Rave reviews from a cookie party. They're a little tricky to figure out in the beginning, but once you crush about five by accident, the other 100 or so turn out AMAZING. I've made several batches since my first try, all with high praise from friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were perfect! If you let the stems sit on the baking sheet a few minutes before baking, they become a little stiffer and you can shape them with your finger. Unfortunately, it wasn't humid the day I made them, but it was the next day. They became soft and almost squishy, but I put them in the freezer and they came out fine. Will be making this recipe for other cake decorations as well. Better to make these the day you need them. The longer they sit out, the softer they become. Very tasty and realistic...Simple recipe and easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This recipe didn't quite work out for me but I know if I made the recipe again they would turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were amazing! I added candy canes for some peeppermint flavouring. They have become a christmas tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very very good. Crisp and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I've been making these for years for my young cousins who have a severe gluten intolerance. These were the only "cookies" they could have, and they're so much fun to make. Best thing about them is the less careful you are, the more realistic they look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
i found 1/4 tsp of salt to be too much. they tasted salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I had never made or even eaten meringues before, but I made these for my godson. He loved them and so did I. I didn't make the mushroom shape though, just used a large star tip and swirled them. Dusted with cocoa and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happywaiwai
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Fantastic recipe! My sister and I made these for our Christmas dinner and it was a hit! They looked so real that people thought we were serving uncooked shrooms straight from the container. I ended up throwing my first batch away because I had over beat the egg whites before adding the cream of tarter. The egg whites did not peak and did not hold it's shape. Follow the directions carefully! My family doesn't like super sweet desserts and this was definitely on the extreme end of the sweetness scale. Next time I'll reduce the sugar by at least 1/4 of a cup, if not half. Overall, easy and fun to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywaiwai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States