Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Really very easy to make, but people are very impressed. They store very well in an air tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
So cute, and not very hard I might add. I live in Panama where the humidity is something like 90% and they still turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
These "mushrooms" are sure to impress everyone, and they're really much easier to make than seems possible! The recipe has everything- great presentation, good taste and texture, and it's low in fat! I made these for a wedding shower, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I will admit these were a little confusing to make, only beacause I wasnt sure if I was piping the stems right. I dusted with cinnamon and used melted white chocolate as my 'glue' Only change i would make is maybe adding chocolate chips next time as i dont like a 'bare' menigue Presentation was verry creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These mushrooms are absolutely magical. They look so real, my husband was convinced I'd gone to the farmer's market without him! The only changes I made to the recipe were in the assembly. After removing the caps from the oven, I used a pastry brush to lightly smear the cocoa powder, going for a 'wild mushroom' look. After they had cooled, I sliced the pointed tips off of the stem pieces to make them flat. One at a time, I painted melted dark chocolate on the bottoms of the caps with a small craft brush, then pressed the cut end of the stem piece into the center. As each one was finished, I placed them cap side down in empty egg cartons so they wouldn't topple over. I left them to dry for a few hours, then sealed them in an airtight container. These were perfect on our Buche de Noel, but I can't wait until next Christmas to make these again. I think they'll be great for Easter, too. Thank you so much, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were the definite show-stealer at my New Year's Party. I was SO impressed with both how easy they were, and how realistic they looked! If you're like me (and the baker at my local supermarket) thinking, "What the heck is chocolate confectioner's coating?", then don't panic. I melted 6 or 7 Hershey kisses and they did the trick perfectly. I've heard meringue can be tricky, so I made sure to slowly sprinkle the sugar one tbsp at a time, and beat it lots and lots and lots, and it worked. Thanks to hungry girl for the zip-lock bag tip. I'll be making these for years and years to come. Thanks Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These were so much fun! I only needed enough to garnish a yule log (Chocolate Decadance Yule Log from this site,) but they were so good and so REALISTIC I finished using all the meringue mixture and brought the rest to work today. (Boy, were my co-workers impressed!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLA IN BETHANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These were easy and so cute! I made 1/2 a recipe piped with tip 12 and got 25 mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Not too hard to make and were a HUGE hit at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyacorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These are soo easy to make, very few ingredients. Really not that messy at all, just have to be organized. Turned out great, everybody thought they were so cute and very delicious too! I did cut down on the sugar though; I only added 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. Really good though! I made half as mushrooms, and the other half, I added some chocolate chips to the batter, and dropped spoonfuls onto tray, and made them as meringue cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States