Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
very pretty. They taste okay. For the time it takes to make them, I'd rather make something tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
WOW!!! these turned out awesome. just to be said, 1 hour was not enough so after 1 hour I turned off the oven and left those there for another 2 hours with the oven door closed. just unbelievably awesome. this is of course a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zahra sh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was so much fun. The project took a long time, but I loved every minute of it. All of my approx. 25 medium size mushrooms turned out GREAT! Thanks for the recipe and thank you everyone whose comments and photos helped me make these on my first try - with so much success. I've wanted to make these for 20 years. Now I know I can and I plan to keep making them every year. One tip for decorating that I learned on my own: I painted the underside with the same chocolate I used to glue the stem to the top. Then, after a few minutes, when the chocolate was partially set up, I used a toothpick to scratch stripes that looked like the underside of a mushroom. They turned out so realistic, family members were fooled at first. Time consuming but fun!! Oh, and these are delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosemarie
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The mushrooms were a hit for my Yule log cake at Christmas. Everyone loved them and was fooled into thinking they were real. I cut down the sugar a bit as another person mentioned--a quarter less. Some still said they were very sweet, so I can imagine the full sugar amount would be a bit much. For those who are lactose intolerant or going low calorie for dessert, it's a great recipe and sure to please. I will use a pastry bag or a better ziplock bag. They came out uneven, but still realistic. Most people didn't seem to mind. I will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Was so much easier to make these then I imagined. They held really well and looked so cute and realistic. Great little way to spruce up a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zuzie
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Perfect recipe! I have made them a dozen times at least. I bring them to xmas parties and mail them to old friends (they ship well and store for weeks in ziplocks). If you take care in your presentation and serve them mid-summer, people may ask you how sure you are these are not poisonous mushrooms :). If your first batch of meringue is not stiff enough for making stems - don't despair - just use it all to make caps. Then make a second batch on a drier day, leaving out vanilla and being extra-careful to make the perfect stiff meringue for stems. I found that my hand mixer with two beaters is much better at making a stiff meringue than when I use the single whisk attachment. A cookie decorating bag with the tip removed works really well for making stems, but a larger/stiffer ziplock will do in a pinch. I usually don't measure the volume of eggs, and just use 3 large whites for this recipe. It still works if you leave out the salt and cream of tartar, but perhaps the eggs whip better with these ingredients. Doubling the recipe does not quite double your yield, because so much depends on the amount of air you manage to incorporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have used many meringue recipes over the years but this will the only one from now on! I decided on this recipe because I wanted to do something fun with some leftover egg whites. The recipe came together perfectly and the mushrooms look great! They were a big hit with everyone at Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDWHISPER84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
made these a long time ago, but never got around to reviewing these things are AMAZING! I did feel I should have gone a bit lighter on the cream of tartar, but that's for another day ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used this recipe many times in years past and loved them. I am very glad to see it again as I had lost the one I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I found these to be great. They took longer than the 1 hour to bake through but looked and tasted great. I made these for a Super Bowl Party in 2012 and got lots of compliments. I used a micro plane and flattened the tops of the stem, then I "glued" the cap on with the use of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millinocket, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States