Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Never tried this before in my life, turned out great! My cornstarch mix did not turn clear either but no problem. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Wonderful! This will be my go-to for all meringue dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Easy, just takes a long while for the stove top mixture to turn clear. Don't overcook as it will get real thick and then its difficult to whip. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have had weepy watery meringue ruin my pies for years. But no longer! This recipe is THE PERFECT MERINGUE RECIPE! Thank you Saundra! And not only was the meringue BEAUTIFUL, the pies this Thanksgiving didn't need to be "drained" to remove all the water. AND, I could still cut through the meringue 4 days later without it bunching up resulting in an ugly mess on top of the pie. Also, I went to Wikipedia to find out why we need to add cream of tartar to meringues. Their explanation is "stabilizing egg whites, increasing their heat tolerance and volume". I decided to leave cream of tartar out and my meringue was fine. The corn starch mixture could be the reason why cream of tartar isn't needed. Unless I get information that it would help my meringues, I plan to continue to not add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Holds its shape and volume beautifully. No weeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have made this several times and it is perfect. I believe the instruction should say to cook the cornstarch mixture until it boils and not until clear. You make this mixture the same way you make cooked pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!!!! Every time I wanted to make a pie with meringue to take somewhere I was in search of the "perfect" meringue recipe. It never failed that the meringue would weep, even though it looked gorgeous... I just made two lemon pies in a matter of days...the first one looked pretty and tasted okay but the crust got soggy from the weeping meringue. Then I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I will use this recipe from now on! I made the meringue exactly according to the recipe and it couldn't be more perfect...looked beautiful, tasted great, and best of all, IT DIDN'T WEEP!!!! I was amazed. I could hardly wait to get up this morning to peek in the refrigerator to see if it had totally deflated and wept during the night. I was elated to find not one drop of moisture, the meringue is still thicker than the pie filling, and another added bonus is the meringue doesn't feel rubbery like a lot of meringues. I am completely satisfied with this recipe and will make cream pies with meringue with a new-found confidence!!! This is definitely a winner!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It tasted great and went together in a snap, but mine did weep a little once I refrigerated the leftovers. It also was a bit "softer" than I would have wanted. I suppose I would have preferred "spongier." I will still use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChillyBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Strong, delish, not wilty or weepy!! Thank you, this one is a keeper! Didn't change anything! My family is not meringue fans whatsoever, but they were all fighting over the beater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States